ASC Awards: ‘Lion’ Wins Cinematographers’ Top Film Prize – Complete Winners List

By David Robb, Amanda N'Duka

Mark Rogers

Lion was the big winner tonight at the 31st annual ASC Awards as Greig Fraser took home the marquee Theatrical Feature prize from the American Society of Cinematographers. HBO dramas Game of Thrones and The Night Of took the top TV awards during the ceremony at the Ray Dolby Ballroom in Hollywood.

ASC Awards Winners List

Last year, Emmanuel Lubezki scored his third consecutive ASC Award for Theatrical Motion Picture, as The Revenant followed Chivo’s wins for Birdman in 2015 and Gravity the year before. All three also went on to win the Oscar for Best Cinematography, the first such threepeat in the category.

But the guild win is no guarantee of Oscar glory: In the ASCs’ 31-year history, only 13 winners of the top theatrical prize have gone on the win on Hollywood’s Biggest Night.

Among the earlier winners tonight, Tod Campbell won Best Regular Series for Commercial Television for the “eps2.0” of USA Network’s Mr. Robot. Igor Martinovic won the award for shooting the Best TV Movie/Miniseries/Pilot for HBO’s The Night Of.

31st ASC Awards for Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography, Los Angeles, USA - 04 Feb 2017

Denzel Washington received the ASC’s Board of Governors Award for career achievement at tonight’s ceremony.

Accepting the President’s Award earlier in the night, Nancy Schreiber said that there were so few female cinematographers when she started in the business that she “wasn’t sure if the ASC clubhouse had a ladies’ room.”

“We have a lot more women cinematographers today,” she said, but they are still a rarity. “It still baffles me when people come up to me and tell me I’m the first woman director of photography they’d ever worked with. But it still happens all the time.”

Here is the complete list of winners at the 31st annual ASC Awards:

Theatrical Releas
Greig Fraser, ASC, ACS for “Lion”

Spotlight Award
Gorka Gomez Andreu, House Of Others

International Award
Philippe Rousselot, ASC, AFC

Bud Stone Award of Distinction
Frank Kay and Bruce Berke

Regular Series for Non-Commercial Television
Fabian Wagner, Game of Thrones, “Battle of the Bastards”

Career Achievement in Television
Ron Garcia, ASC

Television Movie, Miniseries or Pilot
Igor Martinovic, The Night Of, “Subtle Beast”

Presidents Award
Nancy Schreiber

ASC Board of Governors Award
Denzel Washington

Regular Series for Commercial Television
Tod Campbell, Robot, “” (USA)

This article was printed from