IDA Awards: ‘O.J.: Made In America’ Runs Off With Best Feature Prize


O.J.: Made in America continued it early awards run tonight, scoring the Best Feature prize at the 32nd annual IDA Documentary Awards. Picked up a total of four trophies including Best Limited Series (Making a Murder), Best Episodic Series (Last Chance U), Best Short (The White Helmet) and the ABC News VideoSource Award for Ava Duvernay’s 13th.

International Documentary Association

The win was just the latest for Ezra Edleman’s 7 1/2-hour O.J.: Made in America, from Laylow Films and ESPN Films. It also has picked up hardware from the Critics’ Choice Documentary Awards, the New York Film Critics Circle and the AFI Awards and is on the shortlist for a Feature Documentary Oscar nom. Joining O.J. on the Academy’s list are IDA Awards Best Feature nominees 13th, Cameraperson, Fire at Sea, Weiner and I Am Not Your Negro, which beat O.J. at the Los Angeles Film Critics Awards last weekend. All of those films except Weiner won IDA Awards tonight.

Vivica A. Fox hosted the International Documentary Association’s 32nd annual IDA Documentary Awards ceremony at the Paramount Studios Backlot in Hollywood. Here is the complete list of winners and honorees:

Best Feature 
O.J.: Made in America
Director: Ezra Edelman
Producers: Deirdre Fenton, Libby Geist, Nina Krstic, Erin Leyden, Tamara Rosenberg, Connor Schell and Caroline Waterlow

Best Short
The White Helmets
Director: Orlando von Einsiedel Producer: Joanna Natasegara

Best Curated Series 
DR2 Dokumania
Executive Producer: Mette Hoffmann Meyer

Best Limited Series 
Making a Murderer
Executive Producers: Moira Demos and Laura Ricciardi

Best Episodic Series
Last Chance U
Executive Producers: Joe LaBracio, Dawn Ostroff, Lucas Smith, James Stern and Greg Whiteley

Best Short Form Series
Field of Vision
Executive Producers: Charlotte Cook, Laura Poitras and AJ Schnack
Field of Vision

David L. Wolper Student Documentary Award
4.1 Miles
Director: Daphne Matziaraki
UC Berleley Graduate School of Journalism

ABC News VideoSource Award
Director: Ava DuVernay

Pare Lorentz Award
Dreams Director: Mehrdad Oskouei
The Cinema Guild


Best Cinematography
Fire at Sea
Cinematography by: Gianfranco Rosi
Kino Lorber

Best Editing
Edited by: Nels Bangerter
Janus Films

Best Writing
I Am Not Your Negro
James Baldwin material compiled and edited by Raoul Peck
Magnolia Pictures, Independent Lens

Best Music
The Bad Kids
Original Score by: Jacaszek
FilmRise, ITVS


Career Achievement Award
Stanley Nelson

Pioneer Award
Ally Derks

Amicus Award
Lyn and Norman Lear

Emerging Documentary Filmmaker Award
Nanfu Wang

This article was printed from