DGA Names Year’s Best Female & Minority Student Filmmakers

The DGA announced the winners of its best female and minority student films today, with AFI and Columbia University leading the way with three awards each.

“The DGA Student Film Awards recognize talented new student filmmakers, and we congratulate this year’s exceptional recipients,” said DGA President Paris Barclay. “The DGA is committed to calling attention to new talent and encouraging greater inclusion in the entertainment industry. It’s not an accident that many of our past winners have made their marks on our business. We look forward to seeing what these awardees do next.”

AFI students won three prizes in the Western region, Columbia University students won three in the Eastern region. USC students nabbed two prizes, and a UCLA Bruin won one.

Past DGA female and minority student film award winners who have gone on to successful directing careers include Ryan Coogler, Nicole Kassell, Patricia Riggen, Sylvain White and John M. Chu.

Here is the complete list of winners of 2016 DGA Student Film Awards for African American, Asian American, Latino and Women directors.


West Region

Award Winner: Jackson Young of AFI for Trouble Man

Jury Award: Rachel Bass of Chapman University for Black Magic

East Region

Award Winner: Kevin Giles of Drexel University for The Blaise EP

Jury Award: Daniella Hobbs of Ithaca College for The City of Good Neighbors


West Region

Award Winner: Auden Bui of USC for The Lost City of Tomorrow

Jury Award: Yizhou Xu of Art Center College of Design for Shop of Eternal Life

East Region

Award Winner: Yudho Aditya of Columbia University for Pria

Jury Award: Christina Liao of School of Visual Arts for My Grandma’s House


West Region

Award Winner: Juan Martinez Vera of USC for SPARK

Jury Award: Santiago Paladines of AFI for The Fare

East Region

Award Winner: Jimmy Keyrouz of Columbia University for Nocturne in Black

Jury Award: Ivo Huahua of Florida State University for Stutter


West Region

Award Winner: Kelly Pike of UCLA for Owen

Jury Award: Mia Niebruegge of AFI for Snowplow

East Region

Award Winner: Ugla Hauksdóttir of Columbia University for How Far She Went

Jury Award: Hannah Engelson of Emerson College for Jonah Stands Up

This article was printed from https://deadline.com/2016/12/dga-student-film-awards-best-female-minority-student-filmmakers-1201865555/