Cheryl Boone Isaacs To Receive Pioneer Award At CinemaCon


Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences president Cheryl Boone Isaacs will be honored with the Will Rogers Motion Picture Pioneers Foundation’s annual Pioneer Of The Year award, to be bestowed at CinemaCon in March.

“We are delighted that Cheryl has accepted the 2017 Pioneer of the Year Award and will be receiving this well-deserved honor,” said Jim Orr, WRMPPF president and EVP Domestic Theatrical Distribution at Universal. “She is a true Pioneer in our industry, who demonstrates extraordinary leadership and vision not only in her role at the Academy, but also as a committed member of the entertainment community at large.”

Last year, Universal chairman Donna Langley received the award.

Boone Isaacs, who in August was elected to a fourth and final one-year term as Academy president, also runs marketing and PR firm CBI Enterprises, where she has launched Oscar campaigns for such Best Picture winners as The King’s Speech and The Artist. Before that, she was president of theatrical marketing at New Line Cinema and worldwide director of publicity at Paramount.

Will Rogers Motion Picture Pioneers Foundation’s annual CinemaCon gala helps raise fund for the group’s Pioneers Assistance Fun, which helps those in the motion picture community who are encountering an illness, injury or life-changing event.

This article was printed from