Guillermo Del Toro To Receive Sound Editors’ Filmmaker Award


The Motion Picture Sound Editors said it will present Guillermo del Toro with its annual Filmmaker Award at the group’s annual Golden Reel Awards set for February 19 in Los Angeles.

Del Toro joins a list of past recipients that includes Sam Raimi, Darren Aronofsky, George Lucas, Ang Lee, Michael Bay, Steven Spielberg, Clint Eastwood, Brian Grazer and Gale Anne Hurd.

“Texturally and narratively, sound and image fuse in the cinematic experience,” del Toro said. “I have spent as much time on the mixing board as I have on a stage, shooting or in a color correction suite grading the final film. To paraphrase Mark Twain: The difference between the almost right sound and the right sound is the difference between the lightning bug and the lightning. I am thus delighted and honored to receive this award from my colleagues and partners in the storytelling experience.”

Del Toro’s next pic to direct is The Shape Of Water, and he’s being tipped to take over Fox’s long-in-the-works Fantastic Voyage. On the TV side he helped create FX’s The Strain which is getting a fourth and final season to air next summer.

This article was printed from