Irwin Winkler To Receive Producers Guild’s David O. Selznick Award


Irwin Winkler will be honored with the Producers Guild of America’s 2017 David O. Selznick Achievement Award, the PGA announced today. The award recognizes a body of work that includes such modern classics as Raging Bull, Goodfellas and the Oscar-winning Rocky.

“I am honored to receive what is truly the trifecta of recognition: from the legacy of David O. Selznick, from the institution of the Producers Guild of America, and from my esteemed colleagues,” Winkler said. “It is both a humbling and inspiring experience to be included alongside this list of our most accomplished filmmakers of today.”

The award will be presented to Winkler at the 28th Annual Producers Guild Awards ceremony on January 28, 2017 at the Beverly Hilton hotel in Los Angeles.

In addition to the Martin Scorsese films (including The Wolf of Wall Street) and the Rocky franchise, Winkler lengthy roster of producing credits include The Right Stuff and They Shoot Horses, Don’t They? He’s producing Scorsese’s upcoming film Silence starring Andrew Garfield and Adam Driver, and is the only producer with three films on the American Film Institute’s list of the 100 Greatest American Films (Raging Bull, Goodfellas, Rocky).

“Irwin Winkler’s movies have come to define Hollywood storytelling, and the gallery of iconic characters and classic scenes from his work remains a touchstone for all motion picture producers,” said Producers Guild Awards chairs Donald De Line and Amy Pascal. “It’s an honor to give Irwin this award this season, as he continues to release some of the most vital work of his storied career.”

Previous recipients of the David O. Selznick Award include David Heyman, Stanley Kramer, Billy Wilder, Clint Eastwood, Jerry Bruckheimer, Brian Grazer, Laura Ziskin, Kathleen Kennedy & Frank Marshall, Scott Rudin and Steven Spielberg.



This article was printed from