James L. Brooks Set For Producers Guild’s Norman Lear Award For Television

Chris Chapman

James L. Brooks will receive the Producers Guild of America’s 2017 Norman Lear Achievement Award in Television, the PGA announced today. The award will be presented at the 28th Annual Producers Guild Awards ceremony on January 28, 2017 at the Beverly Hilton hotel in Los Angeles.

“For decades, Jim Brooks has brought memorable characters, big laughs and above all, a profound sense of humanity into our homes,” said Awards Chairs Donald De Line and Amy Pascal. “Jim is a producer whose work has influenced multiple generations of storytellers, so it’s an incredible privilege to be able to honor him with our Guild’s Norman Lear Achievement Award.”

A 22-time Emmy winner and three-time Oscar winner, Brooks’ credits include such classic fare as The Mary Tyler Moore Show, Taxi, The Simpsons, The Tracy Ullman Show and Lou Grant, and features Terms of Endearment, Broadcast News and As Good As It Gets. He recently produced writer/director Kelly Fremon Craig’s Edge of Seventeen for STX Productions. The movie stars Hailee Steinfeld, Woody Harrelson, and Kyra Sedgwick and will be released November 18 2016.

Previous honorees of the Norman Lear Award include Shonda Rhimes, Mark Gordon, Chuck Lorre, J.J. Abrams, Dick Wolf, Jerry Bruckheimer, Lorne Michaels, David L. Wolper, Aaron Spelling, Carsey/Werner/Mandabach, Steven Bochco, David E. Kelley, Mark Burnett, and Lear.


This article was printed from https://deadline.com/2016/11/james-l-brooks-pga-norman-lear-award-1201850532/