Steve Dayan Wins Big In Teamsters Local 399 Election

EXCLUSIVE: Teamsters Local 399 secretary-treasurer Steve Dayan has won re-election by a landslide, defeating challenger Mitch Masoner by a vote of 1,407-341. Dayan’s slate of running mates also trounced Masoner’s, 1,275-246.

Teamsters Local 399

It was a heated and on at least one occasion violent election, with one of Dayan’s supporters allegedly punching one of Masoner’s supporters in the face. Masoner said he cancelled a rally and fundraiser last month “due to the threat of potential violence.”

Dayan, however, took the high road, running on his team’s record of accomplishments that includes signing more than 1,000 film, TV, commercial and new-media productions to the union’s contracts during the past three years. As chairman of the California Film Commission, Dayan also successfully lobbied for the tripling of California’s film tax incentives, which has helped keep or bring back thousands for jobs to the state, including hundreds of jobs for members of Local 399.

The website for Dayan’s slate of candidates, called 399 Members First, also notes that the local has eliminated its $400,000 deficit and now has “a positive balance for the first time in five years.”

Kenny Parnell, running on Dayan’s slate, was elected president, defeating Paul Schwanke, running on Masoner’s 399 Strong and United slate, by a vote of 1,422-313. Ed Duffy was elected VP, defeating Gene Alford by a similarly wide margin 1,447-294. Dayan’s team also swept the three trustee races.

This article was printed from