Nicholl Fellowship Screenwriter Winners Unveiled

Four solo scribes and one writing team have been named winners of the 2016 Academy Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting competition. The fellows will receive $35,000 prizes each to be bestowed November 3 at a ceremony and live-read at the Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills. The five winning scripts where whittled down from 6,915 screenplays submitted this year and then 12 that made the shortlist.

Here are this year’s winners:

Michele Atkins, “Talking About the Sky” (Seattle, WA)
Spencer Harvey and Lloyd Harvey, “Photo Booth” (Balgowlah, Australia)
Geeta Malik, “Dinner with Friends” (Los Angeles, CA)
Elizabeth Oyebode, “Tween the Ropes” (Sunnyvale, CA)
Justin Piasecki, “Death of an Ortolan” (Los Angeles, CA)

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences fellowships are awarded with the understanding the recipients will each complete a feature-length screenplay during their fellowship year.

This article was printed from