MTV Video Music Awards: Beyonce Trounces All Comers

MTV’s annual Video Music Awards wrapped tonight in New York City, with Beyonce taking home the most awards of any single contender. The Lemonade singer took home 8 moon men, 7 for her video “Formation,” and 1 for “Hold Up,” a total that didn’t just dwarf the competition, it trounced it, as only Fifth Harmony and Calvin Harris took home more than one trophy, two each as it happens. Beyonce was of course an easy favorite, as even other contenders – like Kanye West – wanted the Queen Bey to win big tonight.

The show itself featured appearances and performances by Sean “Diddy” Combs, Ansel Elgort, Jimmy Fallon doing his best (or worst?) Ryan Lochte impression, Fifth Harmony, Kim Kardashian West, Alicia Keys, Tove Lo, Shameik Moore, Olympic gymnasts Simone Biles, Laurie Hernandez, Madison Kocian and Aly Raisman, Rita Ora, Michael Phelps, Bebe Rexha, Jaden Smith, Kanye West – who gave an entertaining, rambling speech to introduce his latest video, Keegan-Michael Key & Jordan Peele, Jay Pharoah, Nicole Byer, and DJ Khaled.

Here is the complete list of winners.

Video Of The Year
Beyoncé – “Formation” – Director: Melina Matsoukas

Best Female Video
Beyoncé – “Hold Up” – Director: Jonas Åkerlund, Beyoncé Knowles Carter

Best Male Video
Calvin Harris ft. Rihanna – “This Is What You Came For” – Director: Emil Nava

Best Collaboration
Fifth Harmony ft. Ty Dolla $ign – “Work From Home” – Director: Director X

Best Hip Hop Video
Drake – “Hotline Bling” – Director: Director X

Best New Artist

Best Art Direction
David Bowie – “Blackstar” – Production Designer: Jan Houllevigue

Best Choreography
Beyoncé – “Formation” – Choreographer: Chris Grant, JaQuel Knight, Dana Foglia

Best Direction
Beyoncé – “Formation” – Director: Melina Matsoukas

Best Cinematography
Beyoncé – “Formation” – Cinematographer: Malik Sayeed

Best Editing
Beyoncé – “Formation” – Editor: Jeff Selis

Best Visual Effects
Coldplay – “Up&Up” – VFX Editor: Vania Heymann

Song of Summer
Fifth Harmony featuring Fetty Wap – “All In My Head (Flex)”

Best Pop Video
Beyoncé – “Formation”

Best Rock Video
twenty one pilots – “Heathens” – Director: Andrew Donoho

Best Electronic Video
Calvin Harris & Disciples – “How Deep Is Your Love” – Director: Emil Nava

This article was printed from