Playwright David Henry Hwang Elected American Theatre Wing Chair

Carolyn Contino/BEI/REX/Shutterstock

David Henry Hwang has been elected chair of the American Theatre Wing, the organization that created and oversees the Tony Awards. Hwang, the playwright who won the Tony in 1988 for M. Butterfly and whose credits include Flower Drum Song and Chinglish, replaces William Ivey Long, who termed out after four years.

Hwang, a two-time Pulitzer finalist who also is a writer-producer on Showtime’s The Affair, will serve as chair of the Wing’s Board of Directors. He will be joined by co-vice chairs Natasha Katz, Marva Smalls, and Pamela Zilly; treasurer James Higgins; secretary Jane Fearer Safer; and Long, who will become Immediate Past Chair. Hwang first joined the board in 2009.

New appointments to the ATW’s Advisory Committee are Robyn Coles, Alia Jones-Harvey, Lucy Liu, Patti LuPone, Charles Tolbert, Liesl Tommy, Sergio Trujillo and Lia Vollack.


This article was printed from