‘Timeless’ Time Travel Drama From Eric Kripke & Shawn Ryan Gets NBC Order


Eric Kripke and Shawn Ryan’s time-travel extravaganza Timeless, which had emerged as one of the strongest drama pilots at NBC, has landed a series order at the network. It completes a sweep of the time-travel broadcast pilots this season, with all 3 going to series, including drama Time After Time at ABC and comedy Making History at Fox.

Timeless, directed by Neil Marshall, was entangled in tense negotiations between producing studio Sony TV and NBC, which, like ABC, insists on in-season stacking rights for all new series. The studio also has The Blacklist spinoff, whose pickup is pending, as well as Cruel Intentions, Timeless - Season Pilotwhich also had been in contention.

NBC is loading up on genre-themed dramas for next season, with two out of the four new hourlong series picked up so far, including Timeless and the supernatural Midnight, Texas. The other two are ensemble dramedy This Is Us and the Chicago Justice legal procedural, a spinoff from the Chicago franchise.

Timeless, starring Matt Lanter, Abigail Spencer and Malcolm Barrett, gives Davis Entertainment a third broadcast series for next season, along with the renewed The Blacklist at NBC and Dr. Ken at ABC. The company also has The Blacklist spinoff in contention. Here are details about the new NBC series:


From Eric Kripke, Shawn Ryan and the producers of “The Blacklist” comes this thrilling action-adventure series in which a Timeless - Season Pilotmysterious criminal steals a secret state-of-the-art time machine, intent on destroying America as we know it by changing the past. Our only hope is an unexpected team: a scientist, soldier and history professor who must use the machine’s prototype to travel back in time to critical events. While they must make every effort not to affect the past themselves, they must also stay one step ahead of this dangerous fugitive. Can this handpicked team uncover the mystery behind it all and end his destruction before it’s too late?

The cast includes Abigail Spencer, Matt Lanter, Malcolm Barrett, Goran Visnjic, Paterson Joseph, Sakina Jaffrey and Claudia Doumit.

Eric Kripke and Shawn Ryan wrote the pilot and executive produce alongside John Davis, John Fox, and Marney Hochman. Neill Marshall also executive produces. “Timeless” is produced by Davis Entertainment, Kripke Enterprises and MiddKid Productions in association with Sony Pictures Television.

This article was printed from https://deadline.com/2016/05/timeless-time-travel-drama-eric-kripke-shawn-ryan-nbc-order-1201755677/