Trudie Styler & Abigail Breslin Named Greenwich Changemaker Honorees; SFIFF Golden Gate Winners – Festival Briefs

The Greenwich International Film Festival has announced the 2nd annual Changemaker Honorees, honoring artists who use their public platform and film to work for positive social change. An awards dinner and gala is scheduled for Friday, June 10 at Richard’s in downtown Greenwich.

Trudie Styler will receive the Changemaker Award for her work with the Rainforest Fund foundation that supports indigenous peoples in South America, Africa, and Asia and traditional populations in their efforts to protect their environment and fulfill their rights. Trudie and her husband, Sting, started the organization in 1989 and have raised more than $30 million for the cause. Abigail Breslin will receive the Rising Changemaker Award for her work with the National Coalition Against Domestic Violence (NCADV), which works to create a society with zero tolerance for domestic violence. By affecting public policy, increasing understanding of the impact of domestic violence, and providing programs and education that drive that change, NCADV is able to help create a society that empowers victims and survivors and holds abusers accountable.

A portion of the proceeds from the June 10 Changemaker Gala will go to the Rainforest Fund and to the NCADV. The Greenwich International Film Festival runs June 9-12th, with tickets available starting May 12th at 9 AM. The full festival slate will be announced May 11.

sffilmThe San Francisco Film Society has announced the winners of the juried Golden Gate Awards competition for the 59th San Francisco International Film Festival. Honoring films in 12 categories, the winners were announced at the GGA Celebration held May 4. Nearly $40,000 in prizes were given to emerging and established filmmakers.

Here is the full winner’s list:


Golden Gate New Directors Price (Narrative Feature)
The Demons, Philippe Lesage (Canada)
Award: $10,000 cash prize

Special Jury Prize
Mountain, Yaelle Kayam (Israel/Denmark)

Documentary Feature
Cameraperson, Kirsten Johnson (USA)
Award: $10,000 cash prize

Special Jury Prize
Notes on Blindness, Peter Middleton, James Spinney (UK/France)

Bay Area Documentary
The Return, Kelly Duane de la Vega, Katie Galloway (USA)
Award: $5,000 cash prize


Narrative Short
Night Without Distance, Lois Patiño (Portugal/Spain)
Award: $2,000 cash prize

Documentary Short
The Send-Off, Patrick Bresnan, Ivete Lucas (USA)
Award: $2,000 cash prize

Animated Short
Manoman, Simon Cartwright (UK)
Award: $2,000 cash prize

Special Jury Prize
Glove, Alexa Lim Haas, Bernardo Britto (USA)

New Visions Short
My Aleppo, Melissa Langer (USA)
Award: $1,500 cash prize

Bay Area Short First Prize
Extremis, Dan Krauss (USA)
Award: $1,500 cash prize

Bay Area Short Second Prize
In Attla’s Tracks, Catharine Axley (USA)
Award: $1,000 cash prize


Bunny New Girl, Natalie van den Dungen (Australia)
Award: $500 cash prize

Special Jury Prize
Simon’s Cat: Off to the Vet, Simon Tofield (UK)


Elliot, Dennis Kim (South Korea/USA)
Award: $1,000 cash prize—including $500 donated by Vancouver Film School. The winner will also receive a one week scholarship, including tuition and accommodation, to one of the Vancouver Film School’s Summer Intensive Programs.

Special Jury Prize
Lucky Numbers, Chester Milton (USA)
Award: $500 cash prize donated by Vancouver Film School


From My Head to Hers, Maria Alvarez (USA)
Award: $500 cash prize donated by Google Inc.

This article was printed from