Sony Pictures’ Tom Rothman Named Member Of The National Council On The Arts

Sony Pictures Entertainment Motion Picture Group Chairman Tom Rothman has been appointed by President Obama to the National Council on the Arts, the organization has announced. The advisory body of National Endowment for the Arts, the council advises the NEA chairman on agency policy and programs, and reviews and makes recommendations on grant applications, funding guidelines, and leadership initiatives. Current members of the council include Chairman Jane Chu and other National Council on the Arts members Bruce Carter, Ph.D., Aaron Dworkin, Lee Greenwood, Deepa Gupta, Paul Hodes, Maria Rosario Jackson, Ph.D., Emil J. Kang, Charlotte Kessler, María López De León, Rick Lowe, David “Mas” Masumoto, Irvin Mayfield, Jr., Barbara Ernst Prey, Ranee Ramaswamy, Diane Rodriguez, and Olga Viso. Ex-officio members from Congress are Senator Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), and Representatives Betty McCollum (D-MN) and Patrick J. Tiberi (R-OH).

Rothman has been with Sony since 2013, joining the studio as chairman of TriStar before being promoted to Chairman of the Motion Picture Group in 2015. He previously served as Chairman of 20th Century Fox from 2000-2012. Prior to that position, he was president of the Fox Film Group, president of production, and the president of Fox Searchlight, which he founded in 1994. Films made under Rothman’s oversight include Lincoln, Walk The Line, Minority Report, Titanic, Avatar, Life of Pi, Juno, Slumdog Millionaire, and 12 Years A Slave. He also served as president of Worldwide Production for the Samuel Goldwyn Company, executive Vice President for Columbia Pictures, and was a partner at Frankfurt, Kurnit, Klein and Selz.

This article was printed from