‘The Big Short’ Wins USC Scripter Award For Adapted Screenplay; ‘Show Me A Hero’ Nabs TV Honor

Screenwriters Adam McKay and Charles Randolph and author Michael Lewis took home the big prize tonight at the 28th annual USC Libraries Scripter Awards. The winners were announced at a black-tie gala at the Edward L. Doheny Memorial Library on the USC campus.

This year, for the first time, the Scripters also honored the writers of a TV show adapted from another medium. The inaugural TV Scripter went to HBO’s Show Me A Hero writers William F. Zorzi and David Simon, and author Lisa Belkin.

The Scripter Award honors authors of THE BIG SHORTprinted works and the screenwriters who adapt their stories. Coupled with their recent WGA Awards win, McKay and Randolph are now the odds-on favorites to take home the Oscar for best adapted screenplay. The film, from Paramount Pictures and W.W. Norton, is nominated for five Oscars, including Best Picture, Best Supporting Actor for Christian Bale, Best Adapted Screenplay, Directing for Adam McKay, and editing. The last five Scripter Award winners went on to win the Oscar.

Randolph noted that the film was screened before the U.S. Congress last week. “I wrote my first script in this very room,” he said in accepting the honor.

Howard Rodman, Writers Guild WGA West President, eloquently introduced the nominees and announced the winners. Helen Mirren and husband Taylor Hackford were the honorary chairs of the event.

Actress Anne Archer accepted an honorary Scripter on behalf of her late mother, actress Marjorie Lord, the co-founder of the Scripters. Lord died in November at the age of 97.

ScripterAward__130115194941The other film nominees tonight were Brooklyn by screenwriter Nick Hornby and novelist Colm Tóibín; The End Of The Tour by screenwriter Donald Margulies, adapted from David Lipsky’s memoir Although of Course You End Up Becoming Yourself: A Road Trip with David Foster Wallace; The Martian by screenwriter Drew Goddard and novelist Andy Weir; and Room by author and screenwriter Emma Donoghue.

The other TV nominees were HBO’s Game Of Thrones by screenwriters David Benioff and D. B. Weiss, for the episode “Hardhome,” adapted from the fantasy series A Song of Ice and Fire by George R. R. Martin; HBO’s The Leftovers by Damon Lindelof and Jacqueline Hoyt for the episode “Axis Mundi”, based on the novel by Tom Perrotta; Amazon’s The Man in the High Castle by Frank Spotnitz for the episode “The New World,” based on the novel by Philip K. Dick; and Showtime’s Masters of Sex by Michelle Ashford, for the episode “Full Ten Count,” based on the biography by Thomas Maier, Masters of Sex: The Life and Times of William Masters and Virginia Johnson, the Couple Who Taught America How to Love.

This article was printed from https://deadline.com/2016/02/the-big-short-usc-scripter-award-win-1201706401/