Women’s Advocacy Group WeForShe Announces 2016 WriteHer Script List

Women’s advocacy organization WeForShe has selected 16 unproduced female-written television scripts for its 2016 WriteHer List.

The scripts were culled from nearly 200 nominations and evaluated based on criteria including diversity of cast, the Bechdel Test, and the number and quality of female roles. Nominated scripts include Sara B. Cooper’s Harmony, Leah Keith’s Douglas Heights and Laura House’s How To Hate Yourself. Previous writers on the WriteHer List include Kerry Ehrin, Sarah Fain and Elizabeth Craft, and Janet Tamaro.

The WriteHer List is one of the tools created by WeForShe for use by the entertainment industry’s content creators and decision-makers to help increase the number of women working in entertainment. Women comprised only 23% of series creators and only 26% of all on-staff writers for the 2014-2015 television season, according to this year’s University of San Diego Boxed-In report.

“I was very honored to receive a WriteHer award for my unproduced pilot,” says Kristen Newman, 2015 WriteHer List honoree. “I was amazed, however, when VH1 contacted me to buy the pilot because it was brought to their attention when Maggie Malina read the list. There is so much good work by women out there going unproduced just because it isn’t on anyone’s radar, so I’m so grateful for the existence of WeForShe.”

Here is the 2016 WriteHer List:

The Chosen By Julie Richardson
The Dark Pieces by Naomi McDougall Jones
Diary of a Sociopath by Valerie A. Brotski
Dickinson by Alena Smith
Disciples by Blair Butler
Douglas Heights by Leah Keith
Dust by Joy Blake
Harmony by Sara B. Cooper
How to Hate Myself by Laura House
The Hunter and the Mystic by Whitney Hamilton
Lineage by Marlana Hope
Maybe Tomorrow by Hayley Tyler
Rabbit Warren by Vivien Tse
Red Line by Caitlin Parrish
We Peaked in 8th Grade by Julia Lillis
Yank by Marin Gazzaniga

Free Skate by Caitlin McCarthy
Royally Screwed by Ari Berkowitz
Shadow by Yvonne Slaten
Sundown by Scarlette Bennett Tapp & Nikki Braedlin
Unique State of Mind by Thembi Banks & Rochee Jeffrey
Verbatim by Sydney Mitchell

This article was printed from https://deadline.com/2016/02/weforshe-2016-writeher-television-script-list-women-1201696963/