Disney-ABC Writing Program Names Eight For 2016

Disney-ABC Television Group has named eight scribes for its 27th annual Writing Program which launches on Monday, February 1.

On the comedy side are directors’ assistant Dayo Adesokan (Lagos, Nigeria), writers’ assistant Amanda Idoko (Bronx, NY) and reality segment producer Andrew Mathieson (Fairfax County, VA). The drama line-up includes award-winning playwright and financial consultant Ron McCants (Springfield, MO), USC Law School graduate and showrunners’ assistant Miguel Ian Raya (Los Angeles), playwright and Occidental College Adjunct Professor Janine Salinas Schoenberg (Lima, Peru and Walnut Creek, CA), writers’ production assistant Christina Walker (Virginia Beach, VA) and engineer and writers’ assistant Jeffery Wang (Monterey, CA)

Options have been exercised for 2015 alumni, comedy writers Julia Grob (Disney Channel’s Stuck in the Middle), Amy-Jo Perry (Disney Channel’s KC Undercover) and Graham Thiel (Freeform’s Baby Daddy) to continue staff writer services. In addition, ABC-staffed drama writers Brandon Easton (Agent Carter), Jewel McPherson (Wicked City), David Renaud (Blood & Oil) and Matt Turner (The Family), as well as Freeform writer Miguel Nolla (Stitchers), each received script writing assignments while staffed on their respective series during the 2015-16 season.

The writing program has helped launch the careers of several TV scribes including George Mastras (Breaking Bad), Veena Sud (The Killing) and Maria Jacquemetton (Mad Men). Alumni were staffed on Disney|ABC series, including co-executive producer Jane Espensen (Once Upon A Time, ABC), supervising producers Zahir McGhee (Scandal, ABC) and Peter Saji (black-ish), co-executive producer Roger Grant (Stitchers, Freeform) and showrunner Silvia Cardenas Olivas (Elena of Avalor, Disney Channel).

This article was printed from https://deadline.com/2016/01/disney-abc-writing-program-2016-27th-annual-1201691660/