Sam Raimi to Receive Top Honor From Motion Picture Sound Editors

Director Sam Raimi will receive this year’s Filmmaker Award from the Motion Picture Sound Editors. The director of the Spider-Man and Evil Dead franchises, Raimi is being honored for his “outstanding contributions to the art of cinema.” Past recipients include Steven Spielberg, George Lucas, Clint Eastwood, Ang Lee, Gale Anne Hurd, Brian Grazer, Michael Bay, and Darren Aronofsky. The MPSE’s Golden Reel Awards are February 27 in Los Angeles.

“Sam Raimi has been the creative force behind some of the most popular, entertaining and scariest films of our time,” said MPSE president Frank Morrone. “He has been a major influence on other filmmakers the world over. We are very pleased to honor his work and many contributions to the entertainment industry.”

This article was printed from