‘Star Wars: The Force Awakens’ Among Casting Society’s Artios Awards Film Nominees

The Casting Society of America has announced its callbacks on the films for its 31st annual Artios Awards. Among the nominees in the Big Budget Drama category is Star Wars: The Force Awakens, which cast a pair of virtual unknowns — Daisy Ridley and John Boyega — in the lead roles alongside franchise veterans including Harrison Ford, Carrie Fisher and Mark Hamill.

Force Awakens will battle against Bridge Of Spies, starring Tom Hanks; Artios Awards trophyMad Max: Fury Road, with Tom Hardy and Charlize Theron; Spotlight, whose ensemble includes Mark Ruffalo, Michael Keaton, Rachel McAdams, Liev Schreiber and John Slattery; and Straight Outta Compton, the N.W.A biopic that also features many relative newcomers. The Big Budget Comedy race has The Big Short (Christian Bale, Steve Carell, Ryan Gosling and Brad Pitt), The Intern (Robert DeNiro and Anne Hathaway), Joy (Jennifer Lawrence, Bradley Cooper, Diane Ladd and De Niro), Sisters (Tina Fey and Amy Poehler) and Tomorrowland (George Clooney and Britt Robertson).

Among the smaller-budget nominees are Oscar contenders Carol, Brooklyn, The Danish Girl and Trumbo. Pixar’s Inside Out will vie in the toon category against The Good Dinosaur, Legend Of The Neverbeast and Pixels.

Final ballots are being distributed today for the 31st Artios Awards, and voting closes January 8. Winners will be announced January 21 during dual ceremonies at the Beverly Hilton and New York’s Hard Rock Cafe. Steve Jobs and Slumdog Millionaire director Danny Boyle will receive the Career Achievement Award; The Good Wife‘s Michelle and Robert King will be given the New York Apple Award; and casting director Bernard Telsey (Into The Woods) will get the Hoyt Bowers Award.

Here is the full list of film nominees:


  • “The Big Short” Francine Maisler, Meagan Lewis (Location Casting)
  • “The Intern” Bernard Telsey, Laray Mayfield, Tiffany Little Canfield, David Vaccari (Associate)
  • “Joy” Mary Vernieu, Lindsay Graham, Angela Peri (Location Casting)
  • “Sisters” Kerry Barden, Paul Schnee, Joey Montenarello (Associate), Adam Richards (Associate)
  • “Tomorrowland” April Webster, Alyssa Weisberg, Corinne Clark (Location Casting), Jennifer Page (Location Casting)


  • “Bridge of Spies” Ellen Lewis, Kate Sprance (Associate)
  • “Mad Max: Fury Road” Ronna Kress, Nikki Barrett
  • “Spotlight” Kerry Barden, Paul Schnee, John Buchan (Location Casting), Jason Knight (Location Casting), Carolyn Pickman (Location Casting), Joey Montenarello (Associate), Adam Richards (Associate)
  • “Star Wars: The Force Awakens” Nina Gold, April Webster, Alyssa Weisberg,Jessica Sherman (Associate)
  • “Straight Outta Compton” Cindy Tolan, Victoria Thomas, Meagan Lewis(Location Casting), Beth Sepko (Location Casting), Carolyn Pickman (Location Casting), Lucinda Syson (Location Casting), Pat Moran (Location Casting)


  • “Infinitely Polar Bear” Douglas Aibel, Carolyn Pickman (Location Casting), Henry Russell Bergstein (Associate)
  • “Me & Earl and the Dying Girl” Angela Demo, Nancy Mosser (Location Casting), Katie Shenot (Location Casting)
  • “Ricki and the Flash” Bernard Telsey, Tiffany Little Canfield, Conrad Woolfe (Associate)
  • “Sleeping With Other People” Jennifer Euston, Emer O’Callaghan
  • “While We’re Young” Douglas Aibel, Francine Maisler, Henry Russell Bergstein (Associate)


  • “Brooklyn” Fiona Weir, Lucie Robitaille (Location Casting), Jim Carnahan (Location Casting),
  • “Carol” Laura Rosenthal, Maribeth Fox (Associate), Jodi Angstreich (Associate)
  • “The Danish Girl” Nina Gold
  • “Room” Fiona Weir, Robin D. Cook, Jonathan Oliveira (Associate)
  • “Trumbo” David Rubin, Meagan Lewis (Location Casting), Melissa Pryor (Associate)


  • “Big Stone Gap” Henry Russell Bergstein, Stephanie Holbrook, Erica Arvold, Anne Chapman
  • “Dope” Kim Coleman
  • “Grandma” Douglas Aibel, Henry Russell Bergstein
  • “The Mend” Kerry Barden, Paul Schnee and Allison Estrin
  • “Mistress America” Douglas Aibel, Henry Russell Bergstein (Associate)


  • “It Follows” Mark Bennett
  • “James White” Susan Shopmaker
  • “Meadowland” Richard Hicks
  • “Sisterhood of Night” Laura Rosenthal, Maribeth Fox, Jodi Angstreich
  • “The Stanford Prison Experiment” Angela Demo


  • “The Good Dinosaur” Kevin Reher, Natalie Lyon
  • “Inside Out” Kevin Reher, Natalie Lyon
  • “Legend of the Neverbeast” Jason Henkel
  • “Pixels” Brad Gilmore

This article was printed from https://deadline.com/2016/01/artios-awards-nominations-list-star-wars-the-force-awakens-casting-society-of-america-1201675621/