‘Spotlight’, Charlotte Rampling, Michael B. Jordan Top Winners For National Society Of Film Critics

By Anthony D'Alessandro, Kinsey Lowe

Open Road Films

Spotlightwhich chronicled a team of journalists digging to expose a coverup by the Boston archdiocese of an epidemic of pedophile priests, has been voted Best Picture of 2015 by the 50th annual National Society of Film Critics.

Michael B. Jordan was named Best Actor for Creed, in which he played the son of Rocky Balboa’s trainer. Charlotte Rampling got the nod for Best Actress in 45 Years as a woman whose impending wedding anniversary threatens to unravel with the revelation of a shocking secret.

Kristen Stewart was voted Best Supporting Actress for her turn as a movie star’s hyper reliable personal assistant in Clouds of Sils Maria. Stewart has collected wins for this role this season from the Boston Society of Film Critics, Online Film Critics and the New York Film Critics Circle Awards.

Mark Rylance, gaining significant traction this season for his turn as a traded-Soviet spy Rudolf Abel in Steven Spielberg’s Bridge of Spieswas honored as best supporting actor. To date, key noms for Rylance in the supporting actor category include the Golden Globes, Boston Society of Film Critics, New York Film Critics Circle and the Screen Actors Guild.

Josh Singer and Tom McCarthy were named for best screenplay for their collaboration on Spotlight. Ed Lachman was recognized for his DP work in Carol. 

NSFC tweeted the results of its voting today. The society awards at least eight major categories per year. The group includes 53 film critics from around the country. They generally recognize titles that are in the awards season conversation, but not always the obvious frontrunners, as with last year’s best film, Jean-Luc Godard’s Goodbye To Language 25. NSFC did line up with the Oscars last year on such wins as J.K. Simmons (Whiplash) for supporting actor, Patricia Arquette supporting actress (Boyhood) and  Citizenfour for best feature doc.

This article was printed from https://deadline.com/2016/01/national-society-of-film-critics-winners-2016-kristen-stewart-michael-b-jordan-1201675317/