Richard LaGravenese To Receive 2016 WGA Ian McClellan Hunter Award

Screenwriter Richard LaGravenese, the Academy Award nominated writer of Terry Gilliam’s The Fisher King, will be honored by his peers with the Ian McClellan Hunter Award for Career Achievement at the 68th Annual Writer’s Guild Awards, it was announced today.

LaGravenese has written seventeen scripts over his career, including Ted Demme’s The Ref, Clint Eastwood’s The Bridges of Madison County, Robert Redford’s The Horse Whisperer, Alfonso Cuaron’s A Little Princess, and Steven Soderbergh’s Liberace biopic Behind the Candelabra. He has also written and directed five features of his own: Living Out Loud, Freedom Writers, P.S. I Love You, Beautiful Creatures, and The Last 5 Years. Among his many other credits, LaGravenese also co-produced and co-directed with Ted Demme the Emmy-nominated film documentary A Decade Under The Influence.

Awarded since 1992, The Ian McLellan Hunter Award is presented to a Guild member to honor his or her body of work as a writer in film or television. It is named in memory of longtime WGAE member Ian McLellan Hunter, who was a victim of the 1950s Hollywood blacklist and went on to write several successful television series under a pseudonym and then reemerged as a writer on many television projects. Past recipients include Ring Lardner, Jr., Nora Ephron, Ernest Kinoy, Walter Bernstein, Ruth Prawer Jhabvala, David Simon, Claire Labine, Alan Zweibel, John Patrick Shanley, Andrew Bergman, Marshall Brickman and, most recently, Paul Haggis.

LaGravenese will receive the award during the 68th annual Writers Guild Awards, held February 13, 2016 in simultaneous ceremonies in New York City at the Edison Ballroom and in Los Angeles at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza.

This article was printed from