Brie Larson & Saoirse Ronan Nab Santa Barbara Co-Honors; Palm Springs Unveils Foreign Film Screenings

The Santa Barbara Film Festival has named Room’s Brie Larson and Brooklyn’s Saoirse Ronan as its 2016 Outstanding Performers Of Brie Larson and Jacob TremblayThe Year. The tribute and awards will be presented February 8 at the Arlington Theater. This is the first time two honorees have been named for this award, which has gone in the past to Steve Carell, Cate Blanchett, Jennifer Lawrence, Viola Davis, James Franco, Colin Firth, Penelope Cruz, Angelina Jolie, Helen Mirren, Heath Ledger, Kate Winslet and Charlize Theron.

BROOKLYNThis year’s SBIFF runs February 3-13.

In other festival news, the Palm Springs Film Festival which runs January 1-11 has selected 40 of the Foreign Language Film Oscar entries to screen in their Awards Buzz program. They include Son Of Saul, Mustang, The Assassin and several other top prospects in the running this year. The fest will present the FIPRESCI award for the best of show as well as Best Actor and Actress this year.

Here is the complete list:

  • Bota (Albania), Directors: Iris Elezi, Thomas Logoreci
  • The Clan (Argentina), Director: Pablo Trapero
  • The Brand New Testament (Belgium), Director: Jaco Van Dormael
  • Our Everyday Life (Bosnia and Herzegovina), Director: Ines TanovićPalmSpringsFilmFestivallogo
  • The Second Mother (Brazil), Director: Anna Muylaert
  • The Judgement (Bulgaria), Director: Stephan Komandarev
  • Felix and Meira (Canada), Director: Maxime Giroux
  • The Club (Chile), Director: Pablo Larraín
  • Embrace of the Serpent (Colombia), Director: Ciro Guerra
  • The High Sun (Croatia), Director: Dalibor Matanic
  • Home Care (Czech Republic), Director: Director: Slávek Horák
  • A War (Denmark), Director: Tobias Lindholm
  • 1944 (Estonia), Director: Elmo Nüganen
  • Lamb (Ethiopia), Director: Yared Zeleke
  • The Fencer (Finland), Director: Klaus Härö
  • Mustang (France), Director: Deniz Gamze Erguven
  • Labyrinth of Lies (Germany), Director: Giulio Ricciarelli
  • Ixcanul (Guatemala), Director: Jayro Bustamante
  • Son of Saul (Hungary), Director: László Nemes
  • Rams (Iceland), Director: Grimur Hákonarson
  • Viva (Ireland), Director: Paddy Breathnach
  • Baba Joon (Israel), Director: Yuval Delshad
  • 100 Yen Love (Japan), Director: Masaharu Take
  • Theeb (Jordan), Director: Naji Abu Nowar
  • Babai (Kosovo), Director: Visar Morina
  • Heavenly Nomadic (Kyrgyzstan), Director: Mirlan Abdykalykov
  • 600 Miles (Mexico), Director: Gabriel Ripstein
  • The Paradise Suite (Netherlands), Director: Joost van Ginkel
  • The Wave (Norway), Director: Roar Uthaug
  • Moor (Pakistan), Director: Jami Mahmood
  • 11 Minutes (Poland), Director: Jerzy Skolimowski
  • Arabian Nights: Volume 2 – The Desolate One (Portugal), Director: Miguel Gomes
  • Aferim! (Romania), Director: Radu Jude
  • Enclave (Serbia), Director: Goran Radovanović
  • Flowers (Spain), Directors: Jon  Garaño, Jose Mari Goenaga
  • A Pigeon Sat on a Branch Reflecting on Existence (Sweden), Director: Roy Andersson
  • Iraqi Odyssey (Switzerland), Director: Samir
  • The Assassin (Taiwan), Director: Hou Hsiao-hsien
  • How to Win at Checkers (Every Time) (Thailand), Director: Josh Kim
  • Sivas (Turkey), Director: Kaan Müjdeci

This article was printed from