AFI 2015 Jury And Audience Awards: Complete Winners List

As AFI Fest 2015 presented by Audi starts to draw to a close, the festival has announced the Jury and Audience awards. Jury Awards honored films in the new Auteurs section, which looked at 11 films from first and second-time feature directors, as well as the Shorts section, choosing from 53 submissions. Audience Awards were chosen from 53 films in the American Independents, Breakthrough, New Auteurs and World Cinema categories.

The highlights? César Augusto Acevedo’s Land and Shade took the New Auteurs Grand Jury Award. Meanwhile, Isabella Carbonell’s Boys won the Grand Jury prize for live action short, while Don Hertzfeldt’s World of Tomorrow took the price for animation. Meanwhile, the audience voters selected Mustang, from director Deniz Gamze Ergüven for its New Auteurs winner, Landfill Harmonic for the World Cinema Audience Award, and Josh Mond’s James White for the American Independents Audience Award.

Selected award-winners will screen again today at the TCL Chinese 6 in hollywood.

The winners are:


The New Auteurs jury: Inkoo Kang (TheWrap), Sheri Linden (The Hollywood Reporter, Los Angeles Times) and Nigel M. Smith (The Guardian).

New Auteurs Grand Jury Award
Land and Shade
Director: César Augusto Acevedo

Special Jury Mention for Direction
Director: Alice Winocour

Special Jury Mention for Screenplay
Desde Alla
Director/Writer: Lorenzo Vigas


The Shorts Grand Jury: filmmaker Janicza Bravo, producer Keith Calder and the British Film Commission’s Tara Halloran.

Grand Jury Award for Live Action Short
Director: Isabella Carbonell

Grand Jury Award for Animated Short
World of Tomorrow
Director: Don Hertzfeldt

Live Action Short Special Mention for Innovative Storytelling
Rate Me
Director: Fyzal Boulifa

Live Action Short Special Mention for Nonfiction Filmmaking
The Reagan Shorts — Ronald Reagan Light The LIghts, Ronald Reagan Pardons A Turkey, Maryland Public Television Interviews The Reagans
Director: Pacho Velez

Animated Short Special Jury Mention for Screenwriting
Directors: Tom Brown, Daniel Gray

Animated Short Special Jury Mention for Creative Vision
Director: Simon Cartwright


World Cinema Audience Award
Landfill Harmonic
Directors: Brad Allgood, Graham Townsley, Juliana Penaranda-Loftus

New Auteurs Audience Award
Director: Deniz Gamze Ergüven

American Independents Audience Award
James White
Director: Josh Mond

Breakthrough Audience Award
Director: Celia Rowlson-Hall

This article was printed from