BFI London Film Festival Announces Full Line-Up

The 59th BFI London Film Festival unveiled its full line-up today with a total of 238 fiction and documentary features, including 16 world premieres, 8 international premieres, 40 European premieres and 11 Archive films including 5 Restoration world premieres. The festival runs October 7 – 18.  In addition to opening and closing with the previously announced European premieres of Sara Gavron’s Suffragette, starring Carey Mulligan, Helena Bonham Carter, and Meryl Streep and Danny Boyle’s Steve Jobs starring Michael Fassbender, headline galas include Todd Haynes’ Carol, starring Cate Blanchett and Rooney Mara; Jay Roach’s Trumbo, starring Bryan Cranston; Scott Cooper’s crime drama Black Mass starring Johnny Depp; John Crowley’s Brooklyn starring Saoirse Ronan; Nicholas Hytner’s The Lady In The Van and Ben Wheatley’s High-Rise starring Tom Hiddleston as Dr. Robert Laing, a man who has just taken ownership of a luxurious apartment in the adaptation of JG Ballard’s classic novel.

Strand galas include Luca Guadagnino’s A Bigger Splash; Stephen Frears’ The Program; Yorgos Lanthimos’ The Lobster and Hou Hsiao-Hsien’s The Assassin. The Best Film Award will again be handed out in Official Competition; the Sutherland Award in the First Feature Competition and the Grierson Award in Documentary Competition. This year there is also the newly introduced Short Film Award, presented to one of a shortlist of 12 films selected from across the programme. Each section is open to international and British films. The full line-up of the competition is below:

11 Minutes– Jerzy Skolimowski
Beasts of No NationCary Fukunaga
Cemetery of Splendour– Apichatpong Weerasethakul
Chevalier– Athina Rachel Tsangari
The Daughter– Simon Stone
Desierto– Jonás Cuarón
Evolution– Lucile Hadžihalilović
Office– Johnnie To
Room– Lenny Abrahamson
Son of Saul– László Nemes
Sunset Song– Terence Davies
Tangerine– Sean Baker
Very Big Shot- Mir-Jean Bou Chaaya

Titles in consideration for the Sutherland Award in the First Feature Competition are:

3000 Nights– Mai Masri
Bang Gang (A Modern Love Story) –  Eva Husson
The Here After– Magnus von Horn
Krisha– Trey Edward Shults
Lamb– Yared Zeleke
Light Years- Esther May Campbell
Partisan– Ariel Kleiman
Paula– Eugenio Canevari
Tanna– Bentley Dean, Martin Butler
The Wait– Piero Messina
Wedding Doll– Nitzan Gilady
The Witch– Robert Eggers



This article was printed from