‘McFarland, USA’, George Lopez & Zoe Saldana Win At Imagen Awards

McFarland, USA took the best picture prize at the 2015 Imagen Awards, with George Lopez and Zoe Saldana named best actor and actress for their roles in Spare Parts and The Book of Life. Sean McNamara was named best director for Spare Parts.

Jane The Virgin took nods for best primetime TV comedy and actress Gina Rodriguez, and Gael García Bernal was named best TV actor for Mozart In The Jungle. Law and Order: SVU was voted best TV drama.

The Imagen Awards honor movies, television and performing artists for positive portrayals and representation of the Latino community. McFarland, USA and Spare Parts are against-all-odds stories of seemingly unlikely young people and determined adults rising to the challenges and opportunities that life presents. The animated The Book Of Life depicts similar themes associated with observances of Day of the Dead.

Rita Moreno accepted Imagen’s Legacy Award for lifetime achievement. Moreno also recently was named among this year’s Kennedy Center Honorees who will be feted at a Washington, D.C., ceremony in December.  Choreographer and director Liz Imperio was honored with the Creative Achievement Award.

Also on hand among a crowd of more than 600 at the ceremony held at the Dorothy Chandler Pavilion in Los Angeles were America Ferrera, Paula Abdul, Edward James Olmos, Roselyn Sanchez, Esai Morales, Maria Canals-Barrera, Jon Seda, Melissa Fumero, Diogo Morgado, Rico Rodriguez, Sofia Carson, Danny Pino, Carlos Pratts among a crowd and many other Latino performers. Imagen founders Norman Lear and Helen Hernandez also attended. Actress Aida Rodriguez returned as host and Kenny Ortega served as collaborating producer of the event.

Complete list of winners follows:

Best Picture: McFarland, USA (Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures)
Best Director: Sean McNamara, Spare Parts (Pantelion Films)
Best Actor – Feature Film: George Lopez, Spare Parts (Pantelion Films)
Best Actress – Feature Film: Zoe Saldana, The Book of Life (Reel FX/20th Century Fox)
Best Supporting Actor – Feature Film: Carlos Pratts, McFarland, USA (Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures)
Best Supporting Actress – Feature Film: Kate del Castillo, The Book of Life (Reel FX/20th Century Fox)
Best Primetime Television Program – Drama: Law and Order: SVU (Universal Television and Wolf Films)
Best Primetime Television Program – Comedy: Jane The Virgin (The CW)
Best Primetime Program: Special or Made-for-TV-Movie: American Crime (ABC Studios)
Best Actor – Television: Gael García Bernal, Mozart In The Jungle (Amazon Instant Video/Amazon Studios)
Best Actress – Television: Gina Rodriguez, Jane The Virgin (The CW)
Best Supporting Actor – Television: Danny Pino, Law and Order: SVU (Universal Television and Wolf Films)
Best Supporting Actress – Television: Andrea Navedo, Jane The Virgin (The CW)
Best Young Actor – Television: Rico Rodriguez, Modern Family (ABC/20th Century Fox Television)
Best Young Actress – Television: Lilimar Hernandez, Bella and the Bulldogs (Nickelodeon)

Best Variety or Reality Show: Vice (HBO)
Best Children’s Programming: Nick News with Linda Ellerbee (Nickelodeon)
Best Documentary/Film or Television: Children of Giant (PBS/Latino Public Broadcasting)
Best National Informational Program: America By The Numbers with Maria Hinojosa: The New Mad Men (The Futuro Media Group in association with PBS and the World Channel)
Best Local Informational Program: Life Connected: Hispanic Heritage Special (NBC4-Southern California)
Best On-Air Advertising: AARP (Alma Advertising Agency)
Best Theatrical Short or Student Film: Ni-Ni (American Film Institute)
Best Web Series: Comedy: Oh Noah! (Thirteen/WNET New York Public Media)
Best Web Series: Reality or Informational: Los Cowboys (Corral 360)

Event sponsors included Nielsen, The Walt Disney Company, Comcast NBCUniversal Telemundo, CBS, Lear Family Foundation, PBS SoCaL, AARP, ABC7, Latino Public Broadcasting, LATV, Paramount Pictures, Bank of the West, AIDS Healthcare Foundation, California State University-Los Angeles, University of Southern California and Campanario Entertainment. Broadcasting & Cable Magazine, the leading television business brand for more than 80 years, is the Official Media Partner.

This article was printed from https://deadline.com/2015/08/imagen-awards-2015-mcfarland-usa-george-lopez-zoe-saldana-1201503756/