Cheryl Boone Isaacs Gets Third Term As Academy President

Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences President Cheryl Boone Isaacs ran unopposed in this year’s Board of Governors elections held tonight, meaning she was elected unanimously to serve a third term. AMPAS presidents can serve four one-year stretches before terming out.

Also tonight,¬†Jeffrey Kurland was elected First VP; incumbents John Bailey and Kathleen Kennedy were elected to VP¬†posts, along with Bill Kroyer, who was Secretary last year; Jim Gianopulos was elected Treasurer, marking the Fox Chairman/CEO’s first officer stint at the Academy; and Phil Robinson was elected Secretary, already having served terms as VP and Secretary.

Boone Isaacs has had a good summer, with the $300 million Academy Museum of Motion Pictures getting a green light from the Los Angeles City Council that means ground can break in the fall at the corner of Wilshire Boulevard and Fairfax Avenue. She was also able to take a victory lap after the Academy released its diverse list of 322 new members invited to join the exclusive club that oversees the Oscars each year, which came after this year’s Academy Awards took heat in some circles for its lack of diversity in nominations.


This article was printed from