John Lithgow Cast, Claire Foy, Matt Smith Confirmed For ‘The Crown’ On Netflix

John Lithgow has been cast as Sir Winston Churchill in Netflix original series The Crown, and Claire Foy and Matt  Smith have been confirmed as Queen Elizabeth II and Philip Mountbatten, Duke of Edinburgh, respectively, in Peter Morgan’s decades-spanning story of Queen Elizabeth II and Britain’s post-war Prime Ministers. The 10-episode first season is slated to premiere on Netflix in 2016.

The Crown tells the inside story of two of the most famous addresses in the world – Buckingham Palace and 10 Downing Street – and the intrigues, love lives and machinations behind the great events that shaped the second half of the 20th century.

The Crown reunites writer Morgan (The Queen, Frost/Nixon) with director Stephen Daldry (Billy Elliot, The Hours) and producer Andy Harries (The Queen). Stephen Daldry, Philip Martin and Julian Jarrold will direct episodes from scripts by Morgan.

The Crown is produced by Left Bank Pictures in association with Sony Pictures Television. Peter Morgan, Stephen Daldry, Philip Martin, Andy Harries, Suzanne Mackie and Tanya Seghatchian serve as executive producers along with Robert Fox and Matthew Byam Shaw. Andrew Eaton is producing.


This article was printed from