‘Supergirl’, ‘Minority Report’ Among Critics’ Choice TV Awards’ Top New Series

The list is getting longer every year. The Broadcast Television Journalists Association has named eight honorees for its Most Exciting New Series category, up from seven last year and six the year before. They include American Crime Story (FX), Aquarius (NBC), Blindspot (NBC), Minority Report (Fox), The Muppets (ABC), Scream Queens (Fox), Supergirl (CBS), and UnREAL (Lifetime). All are dramas except for comedy The Muppets and horror comedy Scream Queens. The honorees were chosen by BTJA members from pilots, early episodes and trailers from series premiering after May 1.

In addition, the BTJA announced this year’s awards show presenters. They include CCTA nominees Johnny Galecki (The Big Bang Theory), Bob Odenkirk (Better Call Saul), Sarah Paulson (American Horror Story: Freak Show) and Allison Janney (Mom). Additional presenters include Scott Bakula (NCIS: New Orleans), Chris Colfer (Glee), Tracee Ellis Ross (black-ish), Anna Faris (Mom), Angie Harmon (Rizzoli & Isles), Josh Holloway (Colony), Gillian Jacobs (Community), Jake Johnson and Max Greenfield (New Girl), Michael Mando (Better Call Saul), Ben McKenzie (Gotham), Bill Paxton and Olivier Martinez (Texas Rising), Chelsea Peretti and Terry Crews (Brooklyn Nine-Nine), Matt Walsh and Tim Simons (Veep) and Constance Zimmer & Shiri Appleby (UnREAL).

The fifth annual Critics’ Choice Television Awards will air live May 31 on A&E from the Beverly Hilton. Cat Deeley is hosting.

This article was printed from https://deadline.com/2015/05/critics-choice-tv-awards-top-new-series-most-exciting-1201432877/