New Peabody Advisory Board Loads Up Amid Awards Show Revamp

The University of Georgia’s Peabody Awards said today it has created a Board of Advisors, a group of entertainment and media industry leaders that will guide and support the Peabody program’s initiatives. This is a different body from the award’s Board of Jurors that bestows the annual honors for excellence in electronic media. They will be sorted into five committees: Branding and Mission, the Peabody Archives and Endowments, Original Content and Programming, Internationalization, and Events. (See the full list below.)

This year’s Peabodys will for the first time be announced in chunks over a two-week period, starting April 14 with the Individual/Institutional winners and wrapping April 23 with the Documentary, Web/Interactive, Public Service, Education and Children’s programming winners. Winners in the News and Radio categories will be announced April 20. The Entertainment winners will be unveiled April 16 on ABC’s Good Morning America.

The whole thing will wrap with a ramped-up, made-for-TV evening awards show May 31 at Cipriani Wall Street (after two decades of an afternoon luncheon awards show at the Waldorf). It will be hosted by Fred Armisen, and Pivot will air a 90-minute special in June.

Here is the list of the Peabody Awards’ Board of Advisors:

Dick Askin, President and CEO, Askin & Company, Inc. (Former two-term Chairman of the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences)
Neal Baer, principal, Baer Bones, Inc. (Prominent television producer)
Kevin Beggs, Chairman, Lionsgate Television.
Emerson Coleman, Chairman, programming, Hearst Television.
Stephen Davis, Executive Vice president and Chief Content Officer, Hasbro Studios and Global Entertainment.
Nancy Dubuc, President and CEO, A&E Networks.
Michele Ganeless, President, Comedy Central.
Cliff Gilbert-Lurie, Senior Partner, Ziffren Brittenham LLP.
Bob Greenblatt, Chairman, NBC Entertainment.
Paula Kerger, President and CEO, Public Broadcasting Service.
Roma Khanna, President, Television Group, MGM.
Isaac Lee, President, News, Univision.
Paul Lee, President, ABC Entertainment Group.
Michael Lombardo, President, Programming, HBO.
Steve Mosko, President, Sony Pictures Television.
David Nevins, President, Showtime Networks, Inc.
Bruce M. Ramer, Partner, Gang, Tyre, Ramer & Brown
Rick Rosen, Board Member, Head of Television, William Morris Endeavor Entertainment.
Ted Sarandos, Chief Content Officer, Netflix.
Bradley Siegel, President, TVOne.
David Stapf, President, CBS Television Studios.
Dana Walden, Co-Chairman/CEO, Fox Television Group.
Joe Uva, Chairman, NBC Universal, Hispanic Enterprises and Content.
Cyma Zarghami, President, Nickelodeon and MTV Networks Kids & Family Group.

This article was printed from