AFI Elects TNT/TBS Chief Kevin Reilly, Halle Berry To Board Of Trustees

EXCLUSIVE: New TNT and TBS President Kevin Reilly  and Oscar winning actress Halle Berry were elected to the American Film Institute’s Board Of Trustees at today’s  142nd meeting of the Board.  Reilly presides over TNT, which is the broadcast home for AFI’s Life Achievement Award ceremony held each June so it makes sense.  Also at this morning’s meeting  longtime Board Chair Sir Howard Stringer celebrated his 73rd birthday in high style when as a surprise AFI brought in 42nd Annual  Life Achievement Award honoree Jane Fonda with a cupcake delivery  and her singing voice to wish him a Happy Birthday. Among those Board members who joined Fonda in serenading the Chair were James L. Brooks, Robert A. Daly, Marshall Herskovitz, Lori Lee,  Bryan Lourd,  Jay Roach, Ted Sarandos,  ICM head Chris Silberman,  Anne Sweeney, Kevin Tsujihara , Todd Wagner and Academy President Cheryl Boone Isaacs , taking a little time out from preparations for Sunday’s Oscar ceremony.

Steve Martin will receive the 43rd  AFI Life Achievement Award on June 4th.  Maybe next year they can get him to come in and play the banjo for Stringer’s birthday.

This article was printed from