Berlin Competition Final Lineup Includes Wim Wenders, Oliver Hirschbiegel

With under three weeks to go, the Berlin Film Festival has completed its competition roster, adding new titles from Pablo Larraín, Wim Wenders and Oliver Hirschbiegel. In total, 19 of the 23 films in the program will be vying for Golden and Silver Bears. Twenty-one of the titles are world premieres including new addition El Club from Larraín whose 2012 No scored an Oscar nomination for Best Foreign Language Film. World premiering out of competition is Wenders’ drama Everything Will Be Fine with James Franco, Charlotte Gainsbourg, Rachel McAdams and Marie-Josée Croze. The veteran helmer nabbed his third Best Documentary Feature Oscar nomination last week with The Salt Of The Earth. He’s also the subject of an homage at this year’s Berlin fest, and will be presented with an Honorary Golden Bear for his lifetime achievement.

Also in an out-of-competition world premiere is Downfall and Diana director Hirschbiegel’s Elser (13 Minutes), a Nazi-era drama about the resistance fighter who tried to assassinate Adolf Hitler in the Munich Bürgerbräukeller on November 8, 1939.

The films unveiled today join previously announced titles including Terrence Malick’s Knight Of Cups, Werner Herzog’s Queen Of The Desert, Jafar Panahi’s Taxi, Kenneth Branagh’s Cinderella and Bill Condon’s Mr Holmes (the latter two are not competing). The festival runs from February 5-15 with awards handed out on February 14. The full competition selection is below:

Romania/Bulgaria/Czech Republic
by Radu Jude
World premiere

El Botón De Nácar (The Pearl Button) – documentary
By Patricio Guzmán
World premiere

El Club (The Club)
By Pablo Larraín
World premiere

Elser (13 Minutes)
By Oliver Hirschbiegel
World premiere – Out of competition

Every Thing Will Be Fine
By Wim Wenders
World premiere – Out of competition

Ten No Chasuke (Chasuke’s Journey)
By Sabu (Kanikosen, Dead Run)
World premiere

Vergine giurata (Sworn Virgin)
By Laura Bispuri – Feature debut
World premiere

Previously announced
45 Years
by Andrew Haigh

Als Wir Träumten (As We Were Dreaming)
by Andreas Dresen

by Malgorzata Szumowska

Cha Và Con Và (Big Father, Small Father And Other Stories)
by Phan Dang Di

by Kenneth Branagh
U.S. – Out of competition

Eisenstein In Guanajuato
by Peter Greenaway

Ixcanul (Ixcanul Volcano)
by Jayro Bustamante
Guatemala/France – Feature debut

Journal D’Une Femme De Chambre (Diary Of A Chambermaid)
by Benoit Jacquot

Knight Of Cups
by Terrence Malick

Mr. Holmes
by Bill Condon
United Kingdom – Out of competition

Nobody Wants The Night
by Isabel Coixet – Opening film
Spain/France /Bulgaria

Pod Electricheskimi Oblakami (Under Electric Clouds)
by Alexey German
Russian Federation/Ukraine/Poland

Queen Of The Desert
by Werner Herzog

by Jafar Panahi

by Sebastian Schipper

Yi Bu Zhi Yao (Gone With The Bullets)
by Jiang Wen
People’s Republic of China/U.S./Hong Kong, China

This article was printed from