Humanitas Prize Winners Include John Ridley, Larry Kramer, Elaine Ko

Nearly 11 months after he picked up the Adapted Screenplay Oscar for 12 Years A Slave, John Ridley and his script won the Humanitas Prize for Feature Film today. Damien Chazelle’s Whiplash script, which scored an Oscar nom yesterday, took the award in the Sundance Feature Film category. The 40th annual awards, which honor films and TV shows that “entertain, engage and enrich the viewing public,” were handed out during a luncheon at the Beverly Wilshire.

On the small-screen side, Humanitas Prizes went to Larry Kramer’s The Normal Heart, Alex Gansa & Meredith Stiehm for the Season 3 Homeland finale “The Star” and Elaine Ko for the Season 5 Modern Family episode “Under Pressure.” “We are so proud and honored to add this year’s Humanitas Prize winners to the long list of writers whose work has both entertained and inspired us for the past four decades,” said Humanitas Executive Director Cathleen Young said. “It is a formidable group.”

Here is the complete list of winners:

Feature Film Category
John Ridley, 12 Years A Slave

Sundance Feature Film Category
Damien Chazelle, Whiplash

Documentary Category
Ben Cotner & Ryan White, The Case Against 8

90 Minute Category
Larry Kramer, The Normal Heart (HBO)

60 Minute Category
Alex Gansa & Meredith Stiehm, Homeland “The Star” (Showtime)

30 Minute Category
Elaine Ko, Modern Family “Under Pressure” (ABC)

David & Lynn Angell Comedy Fellowship
Nora Sullivan, St. Anthony’s (pilot) USC

Drama Fellowship
Emily Brochin, The Gatekeepers (pilot), USC

This article was printed from