‘Birdman’ Leads Nominees For Australia’s 2014 International Film Awards

Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts is out with the nominations for its fourth annual AACTA International Awards for film in seven categories. Birdman leads the field with seven noms, followed by Boyhood and The Imitation Game with five each and Whiplash with four. All are up for Best Film along with The Grand Budapest Hotel. And all five of those also will vie for Best Screenplay and Best Direction. Most of the names are familiar to voters this awards season, but a couple stand out: Essie Davis as Best Lead Actress for horror pic The Babadook and Andy Serkis as chief simian Caesar in Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes.

Here is the complete list of AACTA nominations:

Best Film
The Grand Budapest Hotel
The Imitation Game

Best Direction
Birdman, Alejandro González Iñárritu
Boyhood, Richard Linklater
The Grand Budapest Hotel, Wes Anderson
The Imitation Game, Morten Tyldum
Whiplash, Damien Chazelle

Best Screenplay
Birdman, Alejandro González Iñárritu, Nicolás Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris, Armando Bo
Boyhood, Richard Linklater
The Grand Budapest Hotel, Wes Anderson
The Imitation Game, Graham Moore
Whiplash, Damien Chazelle

Best Lead Actor

Steve Carell, Foxcatcher
Benedict Cumberbatch, The Imitation Game
Jake Gyllenhaal, Nightcrawler
Michael Keaton – Birdman
Eddie Redmayne, The Theory of Everything

Best Lead Actress

Essie Davis, The Babadook
Felicity Jones, The Theory of Everything
Julianne Moore, Still Alice
Rosamund Pike, Gone Girl
Reese Witherspoon, Wild

Best Supporting Actor

Ethan Hawke, Boyhood
Edward Norton, Birdman
Mark Ruffalo, Foxcatcher
Andy Serkis, Dawn of the Planet of the Apes
J.K. Simmons, Whiplash

Best Supporting Actress

Patricia Arquette, Boyhood
Keira Knightley, The Imitation Game
Emma Stone, Birdman
Meryl Streep, Into the Woods
Naomi Watts, Birdman

This article was printed from https://deadline.com/2015/01/birdman-leads-nominees-for-australias-2014-international-film-awards-1201341815/