Jeff Melvoin To Receive WGA West’s Morgan Cox Award

Veteran television writer-producer Jeff Melvoin (Army Wives, Northern Exposure) is set to receive the WGAW’s 2015 Morgan Cox Award in recognition of his exemplary service to the Guild. Melvoin will be honored at the 2015 Writers Guild Awards’ West Coast ceremony to be held on Saturday, February 14 at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza in Los Angeles.

“The breadth and depth of Jeff Melvoin’s contribution to the WGAW over the past dozen years has few equals. Though it is by no means his only legacy, the Showrunner Training Program is the rightful pride of this Guild,” said WGAW President Chris Keyser.

Melvoin is co-founder and chair of the WGAW’s Showrunner Training Program and has played a key role in mentoring many of TV’s showrunners and writer-producers over the past decade.

Melvoin most recently executive produced Lifetime series Army Wives. His other credits include ABC series Justice, Alias and Line Of Fire, Showtime’s Going To California and CBS’ Early Edition and Picket Fences. He also served as supervising producer of CBS series Northern Exposure, for which he wrote 18 episodes.

A five-time Emmy nominee for his work on Northern Exposure, Melvoin earned a 1992 Primetime Emmy Award, shared for Outstanding Drama Series, two Golden Globes, and a Television Critics Association Award, as well as receiving Emmy nominations (Outstanding Individual Achievement in Writing in a Drama Series) for penning the episodes “Democracy in America” (1992) and “Kaddish for Uncle Manny” (1993). Melvoin’s other writing-producing credits include the NBC series Hill Street Blues and Remington Steele.

Melvoin served on the WGAW’s Board of Directors from 2001-2004 and has served as chair of the Guild’s Writers Education Committee from 2002 to present.

Previous Morgan Cox recipients include George Kirgo, Del Reisman, Frank Pierson, Carl Gottlieb, Patric M. Verrone, Daniel Petrie, Jr., and Thomas Cook.

This article was printed from