UPDATED, 11:59 AM: Santa Monica has become the latest Southern California city to issue citations for anyone not wearing a face covering in public amid a surge in coronavirus cases in the area. In a revised order Thursday, the city set fines at $100 for a first violation, $250 for a second violation and $500 for a third. For businesses, the fines start at $500, increasing to $750 for a second violation and $1,000 for a third.
The city of Beverly Hills was one of the first to mandate masks in April. It issued a reminder last week, noting that violators can face fines ranging from $100 for the first offense to $500 for the third and subsequent offenses.
PREVIOUS, 8:06 AM: Not wearing a mask in West Hollywood will cost you. Los Angeles County sheriff’s deputies in West Hollywood will begin issuing citations for people without face coverings in public.
“Beginning this month, we will start issuing Administrative Citations for people who are not conforming to the Order to wear a face cover/mask in public,” a statement from the station said. “Our last option was to conduct enforcement by issuing an Administrative Citation, but the risk to Community health is too great.”
First-time offenders will face a $250 fine and a $50 fee for a total of $300, according to the department.
The move follows Governor Gavin Newsom’s statewide order June 18 requiring everyone to wear a face covering. The West Hollywood sheriff’s station says it has been educating the public about the need for face coverings since that time.
Newsom has tightened restrictions in 19 California counties, including Los Angeles, amid a surge in coronavirus cases. His order requires restaurants, wineries, tasting rooms, family entertainment centers, movie theaters, museums, zoos and cardrooms in the 19 counties to halt indoor operations for at least three weeks, along with the full closure of bars and breweries.
City News Service contributed to this story.
Subscribe to Deadline Breaking News Alerts and keep your inbox happy.