More than any other contest, the SAG Awards love to stick with favorites for the long haul; that explains Alec Baldwin’s eight nominations for 30 Rock, which ran for seven seasons, and his record seven consecutive wins for the NBC comedy. But, like the Golden Globes earlier this week, the actors guild nominations steered clear of two actors who had been accused of sexual harassment: Kevin Spacey and Jeffrey Tambor.

Given SAG Awards’ track record, the omissions were hard to miss. Spacey had been nominated for House of Cards the past four years, winning in 2015 and 2016. Tambor had been nominated the past two years, winning alongside Spacey in 2016.

Beyond that, the SAG Awards nominations rubber-stamped some longtime favorites, including old-time faves whose shows are making a return after a break — Will & Grace‘s Sean Hayes and Curb Your Enthusiasm‘s Larry David — while recognizing a couple of new series, including Netflix’s GLOW and Ozark and Hulu’s Emmy-winning The Handmaid’s Tale. 

Stranger Things

Wrestling comedy GLOW tied fellow Netflix show Stranger Things as the most nominated series with four noms, including stunt ensemble. They were tied by HBO’s Big Little Lies, which competes in the longform field.

Netflix and HBO extended their dominance. For a third consecutive year, Netflix was the most nominated outlet (19), followed by HBO (12). The next most nominated network was NBC with three.

In the drama series ensemble categories, all eligible nominees from last year — winner Stranger Things, Netflix’s The Crown and HBO’s Game of Thrones — are back, joined by The Handmaid’s Tale and NBC’s This Is Us, which surprisingly didn’t make the cut in the category in its first season.

Anthony Anderson, Tracee Ellis Ross - Black-ish.jpeg
ABC/Ron Tom

While the commercial broadcast networks made a return in the drama ensemble category after a five-year shutout, they retreated from the best comedy ensemble where ABC’s Modern Family and CBS’ The Big Bang Theory had been mainstays. Neither made the cut this year after eight (Modern Family) and six (Big Bang) consecutive showings. In fact, this was the first time neither comedy landed a SAG nomination since they first got on the board in 2010 and 2012, respectively. Modern Family has won the ensemble category three times.

With the two veterans gone, returning nominee ABC’s Black-ish was left to carry the flag for broadcast TV in the comedy ensemble category, along with fellow repeat nominees Orange Is the New Black (Netflix) and Veep (HBO). They were joined by GLOW and the new season of HBO’s Curb Your Enthusiasm, which scored noms for best ensemble and star David eight years after the show’s previous two noms.

Somewhat surprisingly, Will & Grace, a winner and a frequent nominee in the comedy ensemble category for its original run, was not on the list, but the revival was represented by Sean Hayes, a three-time SAG Award winner for the NBC series.

The SAG Awards might need to invest in more hardware with the ever-expanding cast of OITNB, winner of the comedy ensemble category the past three years with 35-40 actors being awarded each year. This year, the cast is setting a record, with 46 members nominated.

In the drama actor category, back are This Is Us’s Sterling K. Brown and GoT‘s Peter Dinklage, joined by Bob Odenkirk of AMC’s Better Call Saul, David Harbour of Stranger Things and Jason Bateman of Ozark. They replaced Spacey, Mr. Robot‘s Rami Malek as well as winner John Lithgow, who concluded his role on The Crown.

On the distaff side, Millie Bobby Brown of Stranger Things, winner Claire Foy of The Crown and Robin Wright, the new lead of HoC, are back, joined by Emmy winner Elisabeth Moss of The Handmaid’s Tale and Laura Linney of Ozark. They replace Stranger Things’ Winona Ryder and Thandie Newton, whose HBO series Westworld did not air a new season in 2017.

The comedy actress category is almost an exact replica of last year’s field with previous winners Julia Louis-Dreyfus of Veep and Uzo Aduba of OITNB and Jane Fonda and Lily Tomlin of Netflix’s Grace and Frankie. The only change is Alison Brie of GLOW stepping in for Ellie Kemper of Netflix’s Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt.

There was a lot more turnover on the male side. Two-time winner William H. Macy of Shameless is back, as is Black-ish‘s Anthony Anderson. The other three nominees are David of Curb and Hayes of Will & Grace, returning to the category after a break; Aziz Ansari of Netflix’s Master of None; and Marc Maron of GLOW. They replaced previous winners Tambor and Burrell as well as Kimmy Schmidt‘s Tituss Burgess.

One note on the longform categories: The actress in a TV movie or limited series field was completely dominated by HBO’s Big Little Lies and FX’s Feud: Bette and Joan, which split all five noms.