The Art Directors Guild is set to honor Matthew D. Loeb, International President of the International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees (IATSE) with a special Leadership Award from the Art Directors Guild (ADG, IATSE Local 800) at its 22nd Annual “Excellence in Production Design Awards.” The black-tie gala will take place on Saturday, January 27, 2018 at the Ray Dolby Ballroom in Hollywood.

“The Art Directors Guild is thrilled to honor the incredible forward leadership of IATSE President Matthew Loeb with the ADG’s Leadership Award,” said ADG President Nelson Coates. “Under his thoughtful direction, Loeb has increased the IATSE stature throughout the industry, and brought about higher standards for all the member locals of IATSE.”

“The Art Directors Guild is proud to be aligned with the politically and socially progressive leadership consistently provided by Matt Loeb,” added Parker.


Loeb has served as IATSE International President for almost 10 years and has been a member of the United Scenic Artists (IATSE Local 829), a member of the Motion Picture Studio Mechanics (IATSE Local 52), and a Charter Member of Film and Television Production Technicians (IATSE Local 491). He was the IATSE’s first Director of Motion Picture and Television Production and was International Vice President for two terms. In addition, he served as Chairman of the East Coast Council for more than 14 years.

Loeb is also a member of the AFL-CIO Executive Council, Co-Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the IATSE National Benefit Funds and Director on Board of the Motion Picture Industry Pension and Health Plans. He serves and supports a number of industry entities that benefit IATSE members including the Advisory Board of the Will Rogers Motion Picture Pioneers Foundation, the Board of Directors of the Motion Picture and Television Fund, and is a member of the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences. In addition, he established the IATSE’s Education Department and programs such as LEAP, the Officer’s Institute and the Training Trust for members of the union.

Loeb joins previously announced honoree, Kathleen Kennedy who will be honored with the 2018 “Cinematic Imagery Award.” Celebrated James Bond franchise Production Designer Sir Ken Adam and award-winning Bambi illustrator Tyrus Wong will be inducted into ADG’s Hall of Fame. Lifetime Achievement Awards will also be presented to Production Designer Norm Newberry, Scenic Artist John Moffitt, Set Designer James J. Murakami and Senior Illustrator Martin Kline. Additionally, the ADG will premiere the “Excellence in Production Design for Animated Features” Award this year.