Pat Collins’ Song Of Granite has been selected by the Irish Film & Television Academy to represent Ireland in this year’s Oscar Foreign Language race. The pic, which bowed at SXSW this year, tells the life story of Joe Heaney, the legendary singer of traditional Irish music knows as sean nós. Oscilloscope snagged U.S. rights to the film and has already set a November 15 theatrical release.

Collins co-wrote the script with Eoghan Mac Giolla Bhríde and Sharon Whooley, and Alan Maher, Jessie Fisk and Martin Paul-Hus are producers. The project is supported by the Irish Film Board, BAI, TG4 and with the financial participation of Société de Développement Des Entreprises Culturelles – Québec and Telefilm Canada.

The IFTA committee had Song Of Granite on short list with Rocky Ros Muc and Aithrí (Penance).

“Joe Heaney, the subject of this film, was a great teacher and advocate for the Irish traditional singing and taught singing to students all over America,” Collins said. “He remains one of the great traditional singers. I think he would have liked the notion of a film with sean nós singing at its core representing Ireland in an international competition like the Oscars.”

The Oscar foreign language shortlist will be unveiled January 5. Nominations will be announced January 23. The Oscars are March 4.

2017 Foreign Language Film Oscar Submissions

  • AzerbaijanPomegranate Orchard – Ilgar Najaf
  • BelgiumRacer And The Jailbird (Le Fidèle) – Michaël R Roskam
  • Bosnia and HerzegovinaMen Don’t Cry – Alena Drljevića
  • CroatiaQuit Staring At My Plate – Hana Jušić
  • Dominican RepublicWoodpeckers – José Maria Cabral
  • FinlandTom Of Finland – Dome Karukoski
  • GeorgiaScary Mother – Ana Urushadze
  • GermanyIn The Fade – Fatih Akin
  • HungaryOn Body And Soul – Ildikó Enyedi
  • IraqThe Dark Wind – Hussein Hussan
  • IrelandSong Of Granite – Pat Collins
  • LatviaThe Chronicles Of Melanie – Viestur Kairish
  • NepalSeto Surya (White Sun) – Deepak Rauniyar
  • NorwayThelma – Joachim Trier
  • PalestineWajib – Annemarie Jacir
  • SerbiaRequiem For Mrs J – Bojan Vuletić
  • South KoreaA Taxi Driver – Jang Hoon
  • SwedenThe Square – Ruben Östlund
  • SwitzerlandThe Divine Order – Petra Volpe
  • ThailandBy The Time It Gets Dark – Anocha Suwichakornpong
  • TurkeyAyla: The Daughter of War – Ca Ulkay