The Producers Guild of America will bestow its prestigious 2017 Milestone Award to Sony Pictures Entertainment Motion Picture Group chairman Tom Rothman at their 28th PGA Awards ceremony on Jan. 28 in Los Angeles.

The Milestone Award recognizes an individual or team who has made historic contributions to the entertainment industry, and during Rothman’s 30-year film career, 400-plus titles under his purview earned more than $50 billion at the global B.O., 150-plus Oscar nominations along with four Oscar wins. Previous recipients of the Milestone Award include Clint Eastwood, Jeffrey Katzenberg, Steven Spielberg, Sherry Lansing, Ron Meyer, Bob & Harvey Weinstein, Alan Horn, Bob Iger, and 2016 recipient Jim Gianopulos, among others. Rothman joined Sony in 2013 as Chairman of TriStar Productions after spending a near two decades at Fox where he served as chairman of filmed entertainment from 2000-2012. Many of those years set profit records. In 1994, Rothman founded Fox Searchlight Pictures after serving as president of worldwide production for the Samuel Goldwyn Company, and EVP of Columbia Pictures.

In a statement, PGA chairs Donald De Line and former Sony chief Amy Pascal exclaimed, “Our industry has benefited immensely from Tom’s instincts, tenacity and vision. From his championing of independent storytellers early in his career to his nurturing of studio films on an epic scale, Tom’s passion for movies has been one of the unstoppable creative engines of our business.”

Rothman said, “This is the highest honor of my professional life and I am humbled and grateful to be included among such august company. Coming from the outstanding organization that is the PGA, it is indeed praise from high quarters. My enormous thanks to Donald, Amy, the Board and the entire membership.  I have no current plans to do so, but I could now die happy.”