Presidential Inaugurals, the Olympics, the Democratic National Convention, talk shows, sitcoms, game shows, music award shows, multiple CNN newsrooms and even the Academy Awards — René Lagler has designed them all and now this Emmy award-winning production designer with more than 2,500 television shows on his resume will receive the Art Directors Guild Lifetime Achievement Award during their Awards show on Feb. 11.

The 21st Annual Excellence in Production Design Awards will take place in a at a black-tie ceremony at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood and Highland.


A recipient of five Emmys and 18 Emmy nominations, Lagler is best known for his contemporary and classic designs for awards shows and specials. He designed the 57th Academy Awards for which he won an Emmy; he designed the Grammy Awards from 1983 to 1987; the Emmy Awards; and the Country Music Awards from 1991 to 2006.

He was Production Designer for the Opening and Closing Ceremonies for the 1984 Summer Olympics in Los Angeles and for seven events for David Wolper’s Liberty Weekend in 1986 celebrating the 100th anniversary of the Statue of Liberty (for which he also won an Emmy).

In addition to designing the acclaimed venues for all three Popes that have come to America, Lagler also designed award winning television specials and series for Barbara Streisand, Frank Sinatra, George Burns, Dinah Shore, Billy Crystal, Julie Andrews, Carol Burnett, Mary Tyler Moore, Glen Campbell, Dolly Parton, Barry Manilow, Tony Orlando, and Neil Diamond. He also worked on Hollywood Squares with his mentor E. Jay Krause.

Lagler also redesigned the main newsroom studio for CNN in Atlanta, as well as CNN studios in New York, Los Angeles and Washington. He designed the Democratic National Convention in Atlanta in 1988, New York in 1992, Chicago in 1996 and Los Angeles in 2000, as well as both of President Clinton’s Presidential Inaugural Galas in 1993 and 1997.

ADG Lifetime Achievement Awards are awarded to outstanding individuals in each of the guild’s four crafts: Art Directors; Scenic, Title and Graphic Artists; Illustrators and Matte Artists; and Set Designers and Model Makers.

Honorees in the other three crafts will be announced at a later date. Submissions for the 21st Annual ADG Excellence in Production Design Awards is open now until November 10. Online voting will be held December 7, 2016 through January 4, 2017 before the nominations are announced on January 5.