We’ve just been handed this bulletin, ladies and gentlemen: The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences said today that the News and Documentary Emmy Awards will be livestreamed on Twitter and Periscope for the first time. Viewers can watch and interact live via @newsemmys starting at 7:30 PM ET


The 37th annual trophy show from the Jazz at Lincoln Center’s Frederick P Rose Hall in Manhattan will see hardware doled out in 40 categories, with PBS leading all networks with 54 noms and stalwart CBS newsmag 60 Minutes topping the program field with 26.

The 2016 Lifetime Achievement Award being presented to three-time Primetime Emmy-winning documentarian Stanley Nelson. His credits include the docs Freedom Summer, Freedom Riders, Wounded Knee and The Murder of Emmitt Till.

Presenters for tonight’s News & Doc Emmys include Dana Bash, Lester Holt, Bill Moyers, Jane Pauley, George Stephanopoulos, Maria Elena Salinas, Jake Tapper, Elizabeth Vargas and CBS News president David Rhodes.