Categories didn’t come much more nail-biting tonight than Outstanding Limited Series category – at least going into the night. But after a series of high-profile wins in the Limited Series acting categories, it seemed ever more certain that The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story would prevail. And so it did. The big trophy went Ryan Murphy’s way over American Crime, Fargo, The Night Manager and Roots.

It was People v O.J.‘s fifth win of the night, after D.V. DeVincentis took the Writing award, and Courtney B. Vance, Sarah Paulson and Sterling K. Brown all won acting trophies.

But a commercial break ensured the thank yous were short-lived for Murphy and his fellow producers, in perhaps the most brutal of tonight’s playings-off. Murphy just about managed to thank John Landgraf at FX, “for being a leader of inclusion, and supporting all types of storytelling,” and nods to Dana Walden, Joe Cohen, Bryan Lourd, Kevin Huvane and others.