UPDATED, 12:23 PM: The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences said today that Mark Goldblatt has won the runoff election for the open Film Editors Branch seat on the 2016-17 Board of Governors. Goldblatt, an Oscar nominee for Terminator 2: Judgment Day, is returning to the Board after a one-year hiatus. He joins incumbents Carol Littleton and Michael Tronick in representing the branch. Goldblatt and Maryann Brandon had tied for the seat in the board election last month.

PREVIOUSLY, July 18: The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences today has elected its 2016-1717 Board of Governors, with a runoff election required for the Film Editors Branch. The new board members:

Laura Dern, Actors Branch
Sharen K. Davis, Costume Designers Branch
Steven Spielberg, Directors Branch
Roger Ross Williams, Documentary Branch
Laura Karpman, Music Branch
Kevin Collier, Sound Branch

Incumbent governors re-elected are David Rubin, Casting Directors Branch; John Bailey, Cinematographers Branch; Jan Pascale, Designers Branch; Mark Johnson, Producers Branch; Nancy Utley, Public Relations Branch; Jon Bloom, Short Films and Feature Animation Branch; and Robin Swicord, Writers Branch.

Governors William M. Mechanic, Executives Branch; Leonard Engelman, Makeup Artists and Hairstylists Branch; and Craig Barron, Visual Effects Branch are returning.

The Film Editors Branch vote produced a tie between candidates Maryann Brandon and Mark Goldblatt. Voting will begin July 25, and end July 28.

The Board of Governors also includes the three governors-at-large appointed in January by Cheryl Boone Isaacs: Reginald Hudlin, Jennifer Yuh Nelson and Gregory Nava.

The Academy’s 17 branches are each represented by three governors, who may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms. The Board of Governors sets the Academy’s strategic vision, preserves the organization’s financial health, and assures the fulfillment of its mission.

These results mark the end of a wide open race for BOG seats.  The Academy changed the way candidates are selected in April  and opened up the process to all members rather than committees that previously selected the finalists.  But looking at the list of final victors the status quo has been largely upheld with seven incumbents re-elected for new three year terms  and three others returning after having been termed out. In terms of the Academy’s drive for diversity there was significant progress with both Roger Ross Williams of the Documentary branch and Sharen Davis of Costume Designers elected to the Board for the first time. Both are African Americans.