The Television Academy will honor the four major broadcast networks with the Hall of Fame Cornerstone Award, marking the first time any broadcast net has been inducted into the Academy’s prestigious Hall of Fame. The awards recognize “the historic vision, creativity and industry leadership of the networks in making a transformational medium possible.”

Television Academy 70 years logoThe awards will be presented at the Academy’s 70th Anniversary celebrity gala, the opening event of the newly-built Saban Media Center at the Academy’s reimagined campus, on Thursday, June 2. Slated to accept on behalf of the networks are: Ben Sherwood, Co-Chairman, Disney Media Networks & President, Disney|ABC Television Group; Nina Tassler, former Chairman, CBS Entertainment and Television Academy Foundation Board Member; Peter Rice, Chairman and CEO of Fox Networks Group; and Robert Greenblatt, Chairman, NBC Entertainment.

While ABC, NBC and Fox are bring represented by current top executives, CBS is having former entertainment chairman Tassler accept the award because of her role as TV Academy Foundation Board Member and her longtime tenure at the network where she led the entertainment division for  a decade.

“Without the stalwart courage, passion and creativity of countless visionaries at each of these four networks, this magical thing called television would have never evolved and the extraordinary innovations and possibilities that the future holds for our industry would never become reality,” said Chairman and CEO of the Television Academy, Bruce Rosenblum.

Rick Rosen, Chair of the Academy’s Hall of Fame committee, and a founding member/head of television at William Morris Endeavor, said, “Because of these iconic players, television has enjoyed decades of exceptional creativity and business success. Looking forward, each will clearly continue to be a material part of a magnificent new golden age that is just beginning.”

Marking the Academy’s 70th Anniversary, the invitation-only June 2 gala will also feature a gathering of television’s biggest stars for a historic “class photo” representing TV’s most memorable past and current personalities and moments.

Additionally, guests will receive the first look at the expansion of the Academy’s new home, the result of a $40 million “New Destination” capital campaign. The new Saban Media Center includes a state-of-the-art 600 seat theater featuring the most advanced Dolby sight and sound system of any non-commercial U.S. theater, along with production spaces that will facilitate digital content featuring industry professionals and Academy events for global distribution, office space for the Television Academy’s philanthropic Foundation, as well as a conference center for symposiums and industry gatherings.