The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has announced the 10 finalists vying for the live-action short trophy at the 88th Academy Awards. Member of the Short Films and Feature Animation Branch will select five nominees from group during branch screenings in Los Angeles, London, New York and San Francisco in December.

They finalists, which emerged from a group that initially consisted on 144 films, are:

Ave Maria, Basil Khalil, director, and Eric Dupont, producer (Incognito Films)
Bad Hunter, Sahim Omar Kalifa, director, and Dries Phlypo, producer (A Private View)
Bis Gleich (Till Then), Philippe Brenninkmeyer, producer, and Tara Lynn Orr, writer (avenueROAD Films)
Contrapelo (Against the Grain), Gareth Dunnet-Alcocer, director, and Pin-Chun Liu, producer (Ochenta y Cinco Films)
Day One, Henry Hughes, director (American Film Institute)
Everything Will Be Okay (Alles Wird Gut), Patrick Vollrath, director (Filmakademie Wien)
The Free Man (Zi You Ren), Quah Boon-Lip, director (Taipei National University of the Arts)
Shok, Jamie Donoughue, director (Eagle Eye Films)
Stutterer, Benjamin Cleary, director (Bare Golly Films)
Winter Light, Julian Higgins, director, and Josh Pence, producer (Innerlight Films and Prelude Pictures)

Nominations for the 88th Academy Awards will be announced January 14, and the hardware will be distributed February 28 at the Dolby Theatre in Hollywood & Highland. ABC is airing the ceremony.