Film Independent announced the deadlines for its upcoming 30th annual Spirit Awards, taking place on February 21. The regular deadline for entries is Tuesday, September 16 and the final deadline is Tuesday, October 14.  Nominations will be announced on November 25, 2014 in a press conference. A number of last year’s Spirit winners went on to win Oscars the following day this year including 12 Years a Slave (best picture, screenplay, supporting actress Lupita Nyong’o), Cate Blanchett (best actress Blue Jasmine), Matthew McConaughey (best actor Dallas Buyers Club) and Jared Leto (best supporting actor Dallas Buyers Club).