annecy logoThe 38th Annecy International Film Festival announced its top winners for the 2014 event, led by the Brazilian feature The Boy and the World (O menino e o mundo) winning both the audience and Cristal Award. The film, directed by Ale Abreu, centers on globalization and is told through colorful, crayon-like drawings.  Gkids acquired the film for U.S. distribution. It’s the second time that a Brazialian title has taken the top prize, last year’s being Rio 2096.

Bill Plympton’s hand-drawn Cheatin’ about a newly-wed wife, who becomes her cheating husband’s mistress took the Jury Award. Plympton is a two-time Oscar nominee and completed his film with Kickstarter funds. Jury Distinction went to Japan’s Giovanni’s Island (Giovanni no Shima), a Japanese-Russian language film based on true events about two children, from two different countries, who bond during the aftermath of WWII.

Other winners are as follows:

Short Films
Cristal: Man on the Chair (France-South Korea, dir. Dahee Jeong)
Jury award: Patch (Germany-Switzerland, dir. Gerd Gockell)
Jean-Luc Xiberras prize for a first film: Hasta Santiago (France-Switzerland, dirs. Mauro Carraro, Pierre Manchot)
SACEM award for original music:
 Hasta Santiago (composer Etienne Perruchon)
Jury distinction: La testa tra le nuvole (Italy, dir. Roberto Catani)
Jury distinction: Histoires de bus (Canada, dir. Tali)
Audience award: La Petite Casserole d’Anatole (France, Eric Montchaud)
“Off Limits” award: Corps estrangers (Canada, Nicholas Brault)

TV and commissioned films
Cristal for a TV production: En sortant de l’école’s Tant de forêts, (France, dirs. Burcu Sankur, Geoffrey Godet)
Cristal for a commissioned film: Tissue Animals (Japan, dir. Fuyu Arai)
Jury award for a TV Series: Tumble Leaf “Kite” (United States, dir. Drew Hodges)
Jury awards for a TV Special: La Parfum de la Carotte (France, Belgium, Switzerland, dirs. Remi Durin, Arnaud Demuynck)
Jury award: Peau “Instant T” (France, dir. Perrine Faillet)

Graduation Films
Cristal for a graduation film: The Bigger Picture (United Kingdom, dir. Daisy Jacobs)
Jury award: An Adventurous Afternoon (Germany, dirs. Ines Christine Geisser, Kirsten Carina Geisser)
Jury distinction: The Age of Curious (Great Britain, dir. Luca Toth)

Other Prizes
The Festival Connections award: Through the Hawthorn (United Kingdom, dirs. Anna Brenner, Pia Borg, Gemma Burditt)
Junior Jury Award for a Graduation Film: Interview (Denmark, Mikkel Okholm)
Junior Jury Award for a Short Film: Histoires de bus
Fipresci Prize: No Fish Where to Go (Canada, dirs. Nicola Lemay and Janice Nadeau)
The Gan Foundation prize: Adama (France, dir. Simon Rouby)
CANAL+Creative Aid Award for a Short Film: Wonder (France-Japan, dir. Mirai Mizue)