Just under a week after SAG-AFTRA announced the candidates for its first election since last year’s merger, the Unite for Strength slate put out its list today. Current National co-President Ken Howard, who is running for the new solo top position, is LA-based UFS’ endorsed candidate in the election. Amy Aquino, who with Howard helped form UFS several years ago, is the endorsed Secretary-Treasurer candidate. Clyde Kusatsu is the UFS endorsed candidate for the Los Angeles Local president’s seat. Sons of Anarchy and Pacific Rim star Ron Perlman, Oscar winner Octavia Spencer (The Help) and Tony Shalhoub expressed their support for the slate. “Unite for Strength’s record of success proves that no one will fight harder or smarter to protect SAG-AFTRA members. With our TV/Theatrical negotiations ahead, it’s crucial to elect leaders who will deliver real results – that’s Unite for Strength,” said Perlman in a statement today. Here’s the UFS release:

Related: USAN Unveils SAG-AFTRA Election Slate

Los Angeles, (July 18, 2013) – Unite for Strength today announced that SAG-AFTRA Co-President Ken Howard and Co-Secretary Treasurer Amy Aquino will seek re-election as the Union’s top directly elected national officers. The group will field a slate of 52 candidates running for positions on the SAG-AFTRA National and Los Angeles Local Boards, including veteran actor Clyde Kusatsu, who is running to become Los Angeles Local President. The slate brings together a broad coalition of candidates with wide-ranging experience in union leadership, including Tony Shalhoub (Monk), Gabrielle Carteris (Beverly Hills, 90210), Jeff Garlin (Curb Your Enthusiasm), Patrika Darbo (Rango), Lisa Vidal (Grimm), Hal Eisner (Award-winning broadcaster at KTTV FOX 11), Jason George (Grey’s Anatomy), Stephen Collins (Devious Maids), and Iqbal Theba (Glee). UFS will also field more than 100 candidates vying for positions as delegates to the first SAG-AFTRA National Convention, to be held in Los Angeles in late September. Election ballots were mailed to members on July 16 and will be tabulated on August 15.

“This election won’t just choose SAG-AFTRA’s leaders for the next two years, it will set our direction for years to come,” said SAG-AFTRA Co-President Ken Howard. The Emmy and Tony Award winner added, “Without a doubt, Clyde Kusatsu and UFS are the leaders who will keep us on the right path. They’ve proven time and again that they know how to build strength, and with pivotal TV, Film, Cable and New Media negotiations on the horizon, they are the team SAG-AFTRA needs. I’m urging all members who want strong contracts, quicker residual payments and safe merger of our benefits to join me in voting for the entire Unite for Strength team.

SAG-AFTRA Co-Secretary-Treasurer Amy Aquino agreed with Howard, saying, “Having worked for merger for nearly twenty years, I’m proud to have helped give birth to Unite for Strength, the group that got us there. UFS has laid the groundwork for a strong, responsive union that’s up to today’s reality and tomorrow’s challenges. We need UFS to continue shaping our new union, and leading SAG-AFTRA and its members toward a powerful future.”

Clyde Kusatsu, running to become president of SAG-AFTRA’s Los Angeles Local, said, “It’s essential that we take a smart approach in the upcoming TV/Theatrical negotiations, and today’s Emmy nominations make it clear that we must pay special attention to the explosive growth in Cable and New Media. We must achieve real gains, and this election is a choice between trusted leaders who have a proven ability to build strength and those who would have left us divided and weaker.” He added, “For five years, I’ve helped UFS create common-sense solutions and I’ll continue to focus on the issues that matter most: delivering a strong TV/Theatrical Contract, reducing delivery time for residuals, and seeing that our benefits are safely merged. I’ll also work with Mayor Garcetti to help him fulfill his pledge to increase local production, creating more jobs for Los Angeles members.”

Ron Perlman, Golden Globe winning star of Sons of Anarchy, remarked, “Unite for Strength’s record of success proves that no one will fight harder or smarter to protect SAG-AFTRA members. With our TV/Theatrical negotiations ahead, it’s crucial to elect leaders who will deliver real results – that’s Unite for Strength.”

Academy Award winner Octavia Spencer noted, “UFS is about one thing: building strength to protect performers. They’ve proven it and they will keep on doing it. If SAG-AFTRA members want real leadership protecting our future, they’ll join me and vote for Unite for Strength.”

Emmy, Golden Globe, and SAG Award winner Tony Shalhoub added, “I’m running with UFS because of their clarity of vision and plain common sense. Their leadership stands in stark contrast to those who came before them and as a result, SAG-AFTRA members are much better off.”

KTTV FOX 11 reporter Hal Eisner, winner of numerous broadcasting awards, said, “With giant media conglomerates controlling everything we see and hear, it’s vital that broadcasters and actors speak with one voice. I’m proud to be running with the group that made that happen – Unite for Strength.”

Film and TV veteran Lisa Vidal commented, “I’ve been fortunate to work in our industry for over 30 years and I’m proud to be running again with UFS. Today our work is created and distributed on more media platforms than ever. When it comes to protecting SAG-AFTRA performers in this rapidly evolving landscape, I trust Unite for Strength.”

National President
Ken Howard

Amy Aquino

Los Angeles Local President
Clyde Kusatsu

Los Angeles Vice Presidents
Susan Boyd Joyce
Jenny O’Hara

National Board of Directors (with ballot numbers)

Amy Aquino – 112
Bobbie Bates – 115
Susan Boyd Joyce – 117
L Scott Caldwell – 119
Gabrielle Carteris – 121
Assaf Cohen – 124
Stephen Collins – 125
Mimi Cozzens – 126
Ellen Crawford – 127
Patrika Darbo – 129
Hal Eisner – 130
Patrick Fabian – 132
Jeff Garlin – 134
Jason George – 135
Ken Howard – 139
Jon Huertas – 141
Clyde Kusatsu – 145
Kate Linder – 146
Allen Lulu – 148
D. W. Moffett – 149
Marisol Nichols – 152
Jenny O’Hara – 91
Conrad E. Palmisano – 93
Robert Pine – 96
Woody Schultz – 99
Tony Shalhoub – 100
Lisa Vidal – 107
Marcia Wallace – 108

Los Angeles Local Board of Directors (with ballot numbers)

Granville Ames – 32
Amy Aquino – 33
L. Scott Caldwell – 39
Gabrielle Carteris – 41
Natalia Castellanos – 43
William Charlton – 44
Parvesh Cheena – 45
Assaf Cohen – 49
Mimi Cozzens – 50
Ellen Crawford – 51
Randy Crenshaw – 52
Jane Daly – 54
Bertila Damas – 55
Alex Daniels – 57
Patrika Darbo – 58
Michelle Dunker – 59
Patrick Fabian – 61
Tracy Fraim – 63
Jason George – 64
Lauri Hendler – 68
Galen Hooks – 69
Jon Huertas – 71
Jon Joyce – 74
Clyde Kusatsu – 76
Shyla La’Sha – 78
Ana Lilia – 79
Kate Linder – 80
Allen Lulu – 82
Elizabeth McLaughlin – 83
Julie Michaels – 84
D. W. Moffett – 85
Ron Morgan – 87
Dan Navarro – 89
Marisol Nichols – 90
Jenny O’Hara – 8
Holly Pitrago – 12
Tara Radcliffe – 13
Clyde Sacks – 16
Mike Sakellarides – 17
Woody Schultz – 18
Iqbal Theba – 23
David Westberg – 27
Vivicca Whitsett – 28