George Lucas, Tony Kushner and Elaine May are among the honorees for the 2012 National Medal of Arts that will be presented by President Barack Obama next week at the White House. Lucas is being honored for his contributions to American cinema. “By combining the art of storytelling with boundless imagination and cutting-edge techniques, Mr. Lucas has transported us to new worlds and created some of the most beloved and iconic films of all time”, according to the award citation released today by the White House. Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright-screenwriter Kushner (Angels In America) will be honored for his contributions to American theater and film. “Whether for the stage or the silver screen, his scripts have moved audiences worldwide, marrying humor to fury, history to fantasy, and the philosophical to the personal” the White House said. May will be honored for her contributions to American comedy. The 2012 National Humanities Medal recipients also will be honored. They include author Joan Didion, playwright Anna Deavere Smith and sports editor/writer Frank Deford. President Obama will present the awards next Wednesday in a ceremony in the White House East Room.