Queen Elizabeth II Given Honorary BAFTA Award
The Queen of England was presented with an honorary BAFTA award on Thursday for her “outstanding patronage of the film and television industries,” the org’s chairman John Willis said. He also called Elizabeth II “The most memorable Bond girl yet” in a nod to her appearance alongside Daniel Craig in a short film made for the Opening Ceremony of last summer’s Olympics. Kenneth Branagh presented the trophy. The queen’s husband, Prince Philip, was the first president of BAFTA in 1959 and her grandson, Prince William, is the current president. Also on hand at the reception were George Lucas, Christopher Nolan, Richard Curtis, Damian Lewis, John Hurt, Eddie Redmayne, Carey Mulligan, Helena Bonham Carter and Thandie Newton.

‘Go Goa Gone’ Trailer A Hit In India
The trailer for India’s first “zomcom”, Go Goa Gone, is attracting a lot of attention with 2.3M views after 10 days on YouTube. The Hindi-language comedy stars Saif Ali Khan as a blonde zombie-hunter and will be released locally on May 10. According to ZeeNews, access to English-language zombie movies and TV shows has increased Indians’ appetite for the genre. Go Goa Gone is directed by Raj Nidimoru and Krishna DK and produced by Saif and Dinesh Vijan under their Illuminati Films banner along with Sunil Lulla of Eros International.

Jane Campion Honored By French Directors Guild
Jane Campion will be the recipient of this year’s Carrosse d’Or (Golden Coach) Award given by the French film directors guild, the SRF, during the Cannes Film Festival. The tribute annually goes to a director from the international filmmaking community for their innovative qualities, courage and independent mindedness. Campion, still the only woman ever to win the Palme d’Or (for The Piano in 1993), is the president of the Cinéfondation and Short Film Jury this year at the festival. The award has previously gone to Jacques Rozier, Clint Eastwood, Nanni Moretti, Ousmane Sembene, David Cronenberg, Alain Cavalier, Jim Jarmusch, Naomi Kawase, Agnès Varda, Jafar Panahi and Nuri Bilge Ceylan in 2012.